Info! Please note that this translation has been provided at best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

Lettre de la NRO au gouvernement mauricien

Publié le
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Lettre de la NRO au gouvernement mauricien

 

  

L'Honorable Alan GANOO
Ministre des Affaires étrangères, de l'Intégration régionale et du Commerce international
Ministère des affaires étrangères, de l'intégration régionale et du commerce international
Tour de Newton
Rue Sir William Newton
Port Louis
République de Maurice

 

L'Honorable Maneesh GOBIN
procureur général
Bureau du procureur général
Bâtiment Renganaden Seeneevassen
Port Louis
République de Maurice

 

Cher Hon. Messieurs Ganoo et Gobin,

 

La Number Resource Organization (NRO) est l'organisme de coordination des registres Internet régionaux du monde (RIRs). Le RIRs gérer la distribution des ressources de numéros Internet (espace d'adressage IP et numéros de système autonome) dans leurs régions respectives.

La NRO écrit pour répondre aux préoccupations importantes qui ont surgi à Maurice concernant le siège panafricain à Maurice d'AFRINIC, l'un des cinq membres de la NRO et dont le territoire comprend le continent africain. Les entités qui composent le NRO comprennent AFRINIC et les quatre RIRs sur d'autres continents, y compris

  1. Le Centre d'information du réseau Asie-Pacifique (APNIC), dont le siège est à Brisbane, en Australie, dont le territoire comprend les pays de la région Asie-Pacifique et l'Océanie ;
  2. L'American Registry of Internet Numbers, Ltd. (ARIN), dont le siège est aux États-Unis et dont le territoire comprend les États-Unis, le Canada et un certain nombre de pays des Caraïbes ;
  3. LACNIC, dont le siège est à Montevideo, Uruguay, dont le territoire comprend le Mexique, un certain nombre de pays des Caraïbes et tous les pays d'Amérique du Sud situés au sud ; et
  4. Le centre de coordination du réseau RIPE (RIPE NCC), dont le siège est à Amsterdam, et dont le territoire comprend l'Europe, le Moyen-Orient et l'Asie centrale.

Les cinq registres, y compris AFRINIC, remplissent la fonction importante d'administrer les ressources de numéros Internet dans leur région respective conformément aux règles adoptées par les membres de chaque région ou aux politiques mondiales adoptées à l'unanimité par les cinq registres.

Il est essentiel pour le bon fonctionnement d'Internet qu'AFRINIC soit en mesure d'exercer les fonctions clés au nom de l'Afrique. Pour exploiter avec succès une entité à l'échelle continentale telle qu'AFRINIC, la communauté Internet africaine a délibérément choisi d'installer son siège à Maurice afin de bénéficier d'un système juridique stable et cohérent.

Avant cette définition, la région était desservie par d'autres RIRs et après de nombreuses années de conversations et de négociations, la communauté africaine a finalement reconnu Maurice comme le lieu le plus approprié pour héberger ce rôle fondamental pour l'Internet régional.

La pertinence d'AFRINIC est d'un degré élevé dans la vie régionale. Il fournit non seulement des services aux opérateurs Internet, mais favorise également la culture numérique dans toute la région qui va au-delà de l'échange commercial de biens et de services. Année après année, AFRINIC génère des connaissances chez des milliers d'Africains, et c'est un processus culturel produit par des Africains pour l'Afrique.

Au cours des 12 derniers mois, AFRINIC a été perturbé de manière inappropriée dans sa capacité à remplir ses fonctions critiques. Plus de 25 poursuites ont été intentées contre elle par une entité connue sous le nom de Cloud Innovation Ltd, avec une adresse enregistrée aux Seychelles, et qui est détenue et contrôlée par M. Lu Heng, un résident de Hong Kong.

Il n'est pas rare qu'un riche demandeur agisse de cette manière vexatoire. Malheureusement, il nous semble que ce justiciable a abusé de cette procédure judiciaire pour frustrer et tenter de causer un préjudice irréparable aux fonctions essentielles d'AFRINIC. Par exemple, au moins deux fois les tribunaux ont rendu des ordonnances ex parte au nom de ce justiciable domicilié à l'étranger, dont l'activité principale est maintenue en dehors de l'Afrique. Ces commandes ont eu un impact sévère et négatif sur AFRINIC. La première ordonnance de ce type a gelé les comptes bancaires d'AFRINIC pendant une période prolongée ; et bien que cette ordonnance ex parte ait été levée par les tribunaux mauriciens une fois qu'AFRINIC a pu faire valoir ses arguments, il a fallu près de trois mois pour que cette réparation soit accordée, ce qui a naturellement causé une pression excessive sur l'organisation AFRINIC et constituait une menace pour l'écosystème Internet en Afrique. Plus récemment, une autre ordonnance ex-parte a été prise pour arrêter l'élection annuelle des administrateurs de toute l'Afrique lors de l'assemblée générale annuelle des membres d'AFRINIC. Bien que nous reconnaissions et respections le droit des plaignants de demander de telles ordonnances, et les tribunaux mauriciens de les accorder, la délivrance de ces types d'ordonnances ex parte a entravé la fourniture d'un service vital nécessaire pour Maurice et l'Afrique. Il a mis en péril inutilement et sérieusement le travail normal et routinier de l'administration d'Internet.

Il serait très regrettable pour la communauté régionale africaine si la situation ci-dessus prouve que la désignation de Maurice comme lieu de localisation de l'AFRINIC a été erronée.

Nous croyons comprendre qu'AFRINIC a demandé à plusieurs reprises à Maurice sa reconnaissance en tant qu'organisation internationale. Nous comprenons qu'il est à la fois approprié pour AFRINIC d'obtenir ce statut, et que s'il est accordé, cela pourrait conduire à des résultats plus appropriés qui reconnaîtraient la position critique que joue AFRINIC dans l'écosystème Internet, tout en garantissant qu'AFRINIC continue de rester responsable et soumis à l'autorité mauricienne. lois. Accorder à AFRINIC ce statut est conforme à l'état de droit et laisse aux tribunaux le soin de fournir tout contrôle raisonnable sur AFRINIC. Nous vous exhortons collectivement à envisager de résoudre ce problème le plus rapidement possible ou à prendre d'autres mesures susceptibles de contribuer à préserver et à protéger l'indépendance d'AFRINIC et la stabilité d'Internet en Afrique. Nous apprécions votre considération pour de telles mesures.

Enfin, les dossiers judiciaires regorgent désormais de déclarations d'experts évoquant un comportement illicite de la part du justiciable. L'examen de ces affidavits par les autorités gouvernementales, en plus de leur prise en compte dans la poursuite des procédures judiciaires, peut vous fournir des informations importantes dans l'exercice de vos fonctions.

 

Sincèrement,

L'ORGANISATION DES RESSOURCES EN NUMÉROS

 

CENTRE D'INFORMATION DU RÉSEAU ASIE PACIFIQUE

Écrit par:
Paul Wilson
Directeur général

 

REGISTRE AMÉRICAIN POUR LES NUMÉROS INTERNET, LTD.

Écrit par:
Jean Curran
Président et chef de la direction

 

REGISTRE DES ADRESSES INTERNET D'AMÉRIQUE LATINE ET DES CARAÏBES

Écrit par:
Oscar Robles
Directeur exécutif / PDG

 

CENTRE DE COORDINATION DES RÉSEAUX IP EUROPÉENS

Écrit par:
Hans Petter Hollen
Directeur général

 


 

Initialement publié le 12 juillet 2022 sur https://www.nro.net/nro-letter-to-mauritius-government/

 

 

Dernière modification le -
Date et heure à Maurice -

Info! Please note that this translation has been provided at best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

NRO Letter to Mauritius Government

Published On -
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
NRO Letter to Mauritius Government

 

  

The Honourable Alan GANOO
Minister of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade
Newton Tower
Sir William Newton Street
Port Louis
Republic of Mauritius

 

The Honourable Maneesh GOBIN
Attorney General
Attorney General’s Office
Renganaden Seeneevassen Building
Port Louis
Republic of Mauritius

 

Dear Hon. Messrs Ganoo and Gobin,

 

The Number Resource Organization (NRO) is the coordinating body for the world’s Regional Internet Registries (RIRs). The RIRs manage the distribution of Internet number resources (IP address space and Autonomous System Numbers) within their respective regions.

The NRO is writing to address significant concerns that have arisen in Mauritius regarding the pan-African headquarters in Mauritius of AFRINIC, one of the five members of the NRO and whose territory includes the African continent. The entities which make up the NRO include AFRINIC and the four RIRs on other continents, including

  1. The Asia Pacific Network Information Centre (APNIC), headquartered in Brisbane, Australia, whose territory includes the countries in the Asia-Pacific region and Oceania;
  2. The American Registry of Internet Numbers, Ltd. (ARIN), headquartered in the US, and whose territory includes the United States, Canada, and a number of countries in the Caribbean;
  3. LACNIC, headquartered in Montevideo, Uruguay, whose territory includes Mexico, a number of countries in the Caribbean, and all countries southward in South America; and
  4. The RIPE Network Coordination Centre (RIPE NCC), is headquartered in Amsterdam, and whose territory includes Europe, the Middle East and Central Asia.

All five of the registries, including AFRINIC, perform the important function of administering Internet number resources in their respective region under rules adopted by the members in each region, or global policies adopted unanimously by all five registries.

It is critical to the proper function of the Internet that AFRINIC be able to perform the key functions on behalf of Africa. To successfully operate a continental-wide entity such as AFRINIC, the African Internet community deliberately chose to locate its headquarters in Mauritius in order to obtain the benefit of a stable and consistent legal system.

Prior to this definition, the region was served by other RIRs and after many years of conversations and negotiations, the African community finally recognized Mauritius as the most appropriate place to host this fundamental role for the regional Internet.

The relevance of AFRINIC is of a high degree in regional life. It not only provides services to Internet operators but also fosters digital culture throughout the region which goes beyond the commercial exchange of goods and services. Year after year, AFRINIC generates knowledge in thousands of Africans, and this is a cultural process produced by Africans for Africa.

For the last 12 months, AFRINIC has been inappropriately disrupted in its ability to perform its critical functions. Over 25 lawsuits have been filed against it by an entity known as Cloud Innovation Ltd, with a registered address in Seychelles, and which is owned and controlled by Mr Lu Heng, a resident of Hong Kong.

It is not uncommon for a wealthy plaintiff to act in this vexatious manner. Unfortunately, it appears to us that this litigant has abused this legal process to frustrate and attempt to cause irreparable harm to the core functions of AFRINIC. For example, at least twice the courts have issued ex parte orders on behalf of this foreign domiciled litigant, whose main business is maintained outside of Africa. Those orders have severely and negatively impacted AFRINIC. The first such order froze AFRINIC’s bank accounts for an extended period of time; and while that ex parte order was lifted by the Mauritian courts once AFRINIC was able to make its case, it took nearly three months for such relief to be granted which understandably caused undue strain on the AFRINIC organization and posed a threat to the Internet ecosystem in Africa. More recently, another ex-parte order was entered stopping the annual election of Directors from across Africa at AFRINIC’s Annual General Members Meeting. While we acknowledge and respect the right of complainants to seek such orders, and the Mauritian Courts to grant them, the issuance of these types of ex parte Orders has hampered the provision of a vital service necessary for Mauritius and Africa. It has placed in unnecessary and serious jeopardy the normal and routine work of Internet administration.

It would be very unfortunate for the African regional community if the above situation proves that the designation of Mauritius as the place to locate AFRINIC has been wrong.

It is our understanding that AFRINIC has repeatedly asked for recognition from Mauritius of it as an international organization. We understand this is both appropriate for AFRINIC to obtain this status, and that if granted, it might lead to more appropriate outcomes which would recognise the critical position AFRINIC plays in the Internet ecosystem, while also ensuring AFRINIC continues to remain accountable and subject to Mauritian laws. Providing AFRINIC with this status is consistent with the rule of law and leaves the courts to provide any reasonable check on AFRINIC. We collectively urge you to consider addressing this issue as rapidly as possible or to take other actions that may help to preserve and protect the independence of AFRINIC and the stability of the Internet in Africa. We appreciate your consideration of any such steps.

Finally, the legal files are now replete with expert affidavits speaking of unlawful behaviour on the part of the litigant. A review of those affidavits by government authorities, in addition to their consideration in continuance of judicial proceedings, may provide important information to you in your duties.

 

Sincerely,

THE NUMBER RESOURCE ORGANIZATION

 

ASIA PACIFIC NETWORK INFORMATION CENTRE

By:
Paul Wilson
Director-General

 

AMERICAN REGISTRY FOR INTERNET NUMBERS, LTD.

By:
John Curran
President and Chief Executive Officer

 

LATIN AMERICAN AND CARIBBEAN INTERNET ADDRESSES REGISTRY

By:
Oscar Robles
Executive Director/CEO

 

RÉSEAUX IP EUROPÉENS NETWORK COORDINATION CENTRE

By:
Hans Petter Hollen
Managing Director

 


 

Originally published on 12 July 2022 at https://www.nro.net/nro-letter-to-mauritius-government/

 

 

Last Modified on -
Date and time in Mauritius -