Info! Please note that this translation has been provided at best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

رسالة NRO إلى حكومة موريشيوس

تاريخ النشر
طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني
رسالة NRO إلى حكومة موريشيوس

 

  

المحترم آلان جانو
وزير الخارجية والتكامل الإقليمي والتجارة الدولية
وزارة الخارجية والتكامل الإقليمي والتجارة الدولية
برج نيوتن
شارع السير وليام نيوتن
بورت لويس
جمهورية موريشيوس

 

المحترم مانيش جوبين
مدعي عام
مكتب النائب العام
مبنى Renganaden Seeneevassen
بورت لويس
جمهورية موريشيوس

 

عزيزي هون. السيدان جانو وجوبين ،

 

منظمة مصادر الأرقام (NRO) هي الهيئة التنسيقية لسجلات الإنترنت الإقليمية في العالم (RIRس). ال RIRإدارة توزيع موارد أرقام الإنترنت (مساحة عنوان IP وأرقام النظام الذاتي) داخل مناطقهم.

تكتب NRO لمعالجة المخاوف الهامة التي نشأت في موريشيوس فيما يتعلق بمقر عموم إفريقيا في موريشيوس لـ AFRINIC ، أحد الأعضاء الخمسة في NRO والتي تشمل أراضيها القارة الأفريقية. الكيانات التي تشكل NRO تشمل AFRINIC والأربعة RIRق في القارات الأخرى ، بما في ذلك

  1. مركز معلومات شبكة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ (APNIC) ، ومقره في بريسبان ، أستراليا ، والتي تشمل أراضيها بلدان منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ وأوقيانوسيا ؛
  2. السجل الأمريكي لأرقام الإنترنت المحدودة (ARIN) ، ومقره الولايات المتحدة ، والتي تشمل أراضيها الولايات المتحدة وكندا وعدد من البلدان في منطقة البحر الكاريبي ؛
  3. LACNIC ، ومقرها في مونتيفيديو ، أوروغواي ، وتشمل أراضيها المكسيك ، وعدد من البلدان في منطقة البحر الكاريبي ، وجميع البلدان جنوب أمريكا الجنوبية ؛ و
  4. يقع المقر الرئيسي لمركز تنسيق شبكة RIPE (RIPE NCC) في أمستردام ، وتشمل أراضيها أوروبا والشرق الأوسط وآسيا الوسطى.

تؤدي جميع السجلات الخمسة ، بما في ذلك AFRINIC ، الوظيفة الهامة لإدارة موارد أرقام الإنترنت في منطقتهم بموجب القواعد المعتمدة من قبل الأعضاء في كل منطقة ، أو السياسات العالمية المعتمدة بالإجماع من قبل جميع السجلات الخمسة.

من الأهمية بمكان بالنسبة للوظيفة المناسبة للإنترنت أن تتمكن AFRINIC من أداء الوظائف الرئيسية نيابة عن إفريقيا. من أجل التشغيل الناجح لكيان على مستوى القارة مثل AFRINIC ، اختار مجتمع الإنترنت الأفريقي عن عمد تحديد مقره الرئيسي في موريشيوس من أجل الاستفادة من نظام قانوني مستقر ومتسق.

قبل هذا التعريف ، كانت المنطقة تخدم من قبل الآخرين RIRوبعد سنوات عديدة من المحادثات والمفاوضات ، أقر المجتمع الأفريقي أخيرًا بأن موريشيوس هي المكان الأنسب لاستضافة هذا الدور الأساسي للإنترنت الإقليمي.

أهمية AFRINIC على درجة عالية في الحياة الإقليمية. فهو لا يوفر خدمات لمشغلي الإنترنت فحسب ، بل يعزز أيضًا الثقافة الرقمية في جميع أنحاء المنطقة والتي تتجاوز التبادل التجاري للسلع والخدمات. عام بعد عام ، تولد AFRINIC المعرفة لآلاف الأفارقة ، وهذه عملية ثقافية أنتجها الأفارقة لأفريقيا.

على مدى الأشهر الـ 12 الماضية ، تعرضت AFRINIC للاضطراب بشكل غير لائق في قدرتها على أداء وظائفها الحيوية. تم رفع أكثر من 25 دعوى قضائية ضدها من قبل كيان يُعرف باسم Cloud Innovation Ltd ، وعنوانه المسجل في سيشيل ، والذي يملكه ويسيطر عليه السيد Lu Heng ، وهو مقيم في هونغ كونغ.

ليس من غير المألوف أن يتصرف المدعي الثري بهذه الطريقة الكيدية. لسوء الحظ ، يبدو لنا أن هذا المتقاضي قد أساء استخدام هذه العملية القانونية للإحباط ومحاولة التسبب في ضرر لا يمكن إصلاحه للوظائف الأساسية لـ AFRINIC. على سبيل المثال ، أصدرت المحاكم مرتين على الأقل أوامر من جانب واحد نيابة عن هذا المتقاضي الأجنبي المقيم ، والذي تتم إدارة أعماله الرئيسية خارج إفريقيا. وقد أثرت هذه الأوامر بشدة وسلبية على AFRINIC. أدى أول أمر من هذا القبيل إلى تجميد الحسابات المصرفية لـ AFRINIC لفترة طويلة من الزمن ؛ وبينما رفعت محاكم موريشيوس هذا الأمر الغيابي بمجرد أن تمكنت AFRINIC من رفع قضيتها ، فقد استغرق الأمر ما يقرب من ثلاثة أشهر لمنح مثل هذا الإعفاء مما تسبب بشكل مفهوم في ضغوط لا داعي لها على منظمة AFRINIC وشكل تهديدًا للنظام البيئي للإنترنت في أفريقيا. في الآونة الأخيرة ، تم إدخال أمر من طرف واحد آخر لوقف الانتخابات السنوية للمديرين من جميع أنحاء إفريقيا في الاجتماع السنوي للأعضاء العامين لـ AFRINIC. بينما نعترف ونحترم حق المشتكين في طلب مثل هذه الأوامر ، ومحاكم موريشيوس في منحها ، فإن إصدار هذه الأنواع من الأوامر الغيابية قد أعاق توفير خدمة حيوية ضرورية لموريشيوس وأفريقيا. لقد عرّض العمل العادي والروتيني لإدارة الإنترنت لخطر غير ضروري وخطير.

سيكون من المؤسف للغاية بالنسبة للمجتمع الإقليمي الأفريقي إذا أثبت الوضع أعلاه أن تسمية موريشيوس كمكان لتحديد موقع AFRINIC كان خطأ.

نفهم أن AFRINIC طلبت مرارًا وتكرارًا اعتراف موريشيوس بها كمنظمة دولية. نحن نتفهم أن هذا مناسب لـ AFRINIC للحصول على هذه الحالة ، وأنه إذا تم منحه ، فقد يؤدي إلى نتائج أكثر ملاءمة والتي من شأنها التعرف على المكانة الحاسمة التي تلعبها AFRINIC في النظام البيئي للإنترنت ، مع ضمان استمرار AFRINIC في أن تظل مسؤولة وخاضعة لموريشيوس. القوانين. إن تزويد AFRINIC بهذا الوضع يتوافق مع سيادة القانون ويترك للمحاكم تقديم أي فحص معقول على AFRINIC. نحن نحثك بشكل جماعي على النظر في معالجة هذه المشكلة بأسرع ما يمكن أو اتخاذ إجراءات أخرى قد تساعد في الحفاظ على استقلال AFRINIC واستقرار الإنترنت في إفريقيا وحمايته. نحن نقدر اهتمامك بأي من هذه الخطوات.

أخيرًا ، تمتلئ الملفات القانونية الآن بإفادات خبراء تتحدث عن سلوك غير قانوني من جانب المتقاضي. قد توفر لك مراجعة هذه الإقرارات من قبل السلطات الحكومية ، بالإضافة إلى النظر فيها في استمرار الإجراءات القضائية ، معلومات مهمة لك في واجباتك.

 

مع خالص الشكر والتقدير،

منظمة موارد الأرقام

 

مركز معلومات شبكة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ

بواسطة:
بول ويلسون
المدير العام

 

السجل الأمريكي لأرقام الإنترنت المحدودة.

بواسطة:
جون كوران
الرئيس والمدير العام التنفيذي

 

سجل عناوين الإنترنت لأمريكا اللاتينية ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي

بواسطة:
أوسكار روبلز
المدير التنفيذي / الرئيس التنفيذي

 

مركز تنسيق شبكة RÉSEAUX IP EUROPÉENS

بواسطة:
هانز بيتر هولين
العضو المنتدب

 


 

نُشر في الأصل في 12 يوليو 2022 في https://www.nro.net/nro-letter-to-mauritius-government/

 

 

آخر تعديل في -
التاريخ والوقت في موريشيوس -

Info! Please note that this translation has been provided at best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

NRO Letter to Mauritius Government

Published On -
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
NRO Letter to Mauritius Government

 

  

The Honourable Alan GANOO
Minister of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade
Newton Tower
Sir William Newton Street
Port Louis
Republic of Mauritius

 

The Honourable Maneesh GOBIN
Attorney General
Attorney General’s Office
Renganaden Seeneevassen Building
Port Louis
Republic of Mauritius

 

Dear Hon. Messrs Ganoo and Gobin,

 

The Number Resource Organization (NRO) is the coordinating body for the world’s Regional Internet Registries (RIRs). The RIRs manage the distribution of Internet number resources (IP address space and Autonomous System Numbers) within their respective regions.

The NRO is writing to address significant concerns that have arisen in Mauritius regarding the pan-African headquarters in Mauritius of AFRINIC, one of the five members of the NRO and whose territory includes the African continent. The entities which make up the NRO include AFRINIC and the four RIRs on other continents, including

  1. The Asia Pacific Network Information Centre (APNIC), headquartered in Brisbane, Australia, whose territory includes the countries in the Asia-Pacific region and Oceania;
  2. The American Registry of Internet Numbers, Ltd. (ARIN), headquartered in the US, and whose territory includes the United States, Canada, and a number of countries in the Caribbean;
  3. LACNIC, headquartered in Montevideo, Uruguay, whose territory includes Mexico, a number of countries in the Caribbean, and all countries southward in South America; and
  4. The RIPE Network Coordination Centre (RIPE NCC), is headquartered in Amsterdam, and whose territory includes Europe, the Middle East and Central Asia.

All five of the registries, including AFRINIC, perform the important function of administering Internet number resources in their respective region under rules adopted by the members in each region, or global policies adopted unanimously by all five registries.

It is critical to the proper function of the Internet that AFRINIC be able to perform the key functions on behalf of Africa. To successfully operate a continental-wide entity such as AFRINIC, the African Internet community deliberately chose to locate its headquarters in Mauritius in order to obtain the benefit of a stable and consistent legal system.

Prior to this definition, the region was served by other RIRs and after many years of conversations and negotiations, the African community finally recognized Mauritius as the most appropriate place to host this fundamental role for the regional Internet.

The relevance of AFRINIC is of a high degree in regional life. It not only provides services to Internet operators but also fosters digital culture throughout the region which goes beyond the commercial exchange of goods and services. Year after year, AFRINIC generates knowledge in thousands of Africans, and this is a cultural process produced by Africans for Africa.

For the last 12 months, AFRINIC has been inappropriately disrupted in its ability to perform its critical functions. Over 25 lawsuits have been filed against it by an entity known as Cloud Innovation Ltd, with a registered address in Seychelles, and which is owned and controlled by Mr Lu Heng, a resident of Hong Kong.

It is not uncommon for a wealthy plaintiff to act in this vexatious manner. Unfortunately, it appears to us that this litigant has abused this legal process to frustrate and attempt to cause irreparable harm to the core functions of AFRINIC. For example, at least twice the courts have issued ex parte orders on behalf of this foreign domiciled litigant, whose main business is maintained outside of Africa. Those orders have severely and negatively impacted AFRINIC. The first such order froze AFRINIC’s bank accounts for an extended period of time; and while that ex parte order was lifted by the Mauritian courts once AFRINIC was able to make its case, it took nearly three months for such relief to be granted which understandably caused undue strain on the AFRINIC organization and posed a threat to the Internet ecosystem in Africa. More recently, another ex-parte order was entered stopping the annual election of Directors from across Africa at AFRINIC’s Annual General Members Meeting. While we acknowledge and respect the right of complainants to seek such orders, and the Mauritian Courts to grant them, the issuance of these types of ex parte Orders has hampered the provision of a vital service necessary for Mauritius and Africa. It has placed in unnecessary and serious jeopardy the normal and routine work of Internet administration.

It would be very unfortunate for the African regional community if the above situation proves that the designation of Mauritius as the place to locate AFRINIC has been wrong.

It is our understanding that AFRINIC has repeatedly asked for recognition from Mauritius of it as an international organization. We understand this is both appropriate for AFRINIC to obtain this status, and that if granted, it might lead to more appropriate outcomes which would recognise the critical position AFRINIC plays in the Internet ecosystem, while also ensuring AFRINIC continues to remain accountable and subject to Mauritian laws. Providing AFRINIC with this status is consistent with the rule of law and leaves the courts to provide any reasonable check on AFRINIC. We collectively urge you to consider addressing this issue as rapidly as possible or to take other actions that may help to preserve and protect the independence of AFRINIC and the stability of the Internet in Africa. We appreciate your consideration of any such steps.

Finally, the legal files are now replete with expert affidavits speaking of unlawful behaviour on the part of the litigant. A review of those affidavits by government authorities, in addition to their consideration in continuance of judicial proceedings, may provide important information to you in your duties.

 

Sincerely,

THE NUMBER RESOURCE ORGANIZATION

 

ASIA PACIFIC NETWORK INFORMATION CENTRE

By:
Paul Wilson
Director-General

 

AMERICAN REGISTRY FOR INTERNET NUMBERS, LTD.

By:
John Curran
President and Chief Executive Officer

 

LATIN AMERICAN AND CARIBBEAN INTERNET ADDRESSES REGISTRY

By:
Oscar Robles
Executive Director/CEO

 

RÉSEAUX IP EUROPÉENS NETWORK COORDINATION CENTRE

By:
Hans Petter Hollen
Managing Director

 


 

Originally published on 12 July 2022 at https://www.nro.net/nro-letter-to-mauritius-government/

 

 

Last Modified on -
Date and time in Mauritius -