Info! Please note that this translation has been provided at best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

مؤتمر القمة الأفريقية للإنترنت (AIS'20) عبر الإنترنت: خلف الكواليس

تاريخ النشر
المؤتمر الافتراضي لقمة الإنترنت الإفريقية (AIS'20): خلف الكواليس

تجربة جديدة

بطاقة ais 20 blg2اختتم المركز الإفريقي لمعلومات الشبكة (AFRINIC) بالتعاون مع مجموعة مشغلي الشبكات الإفريقية (AfNOG) مؤتمرهم الافتراضي الأول (AIS'20).

أقيم الحدث تقريبًا في الفترة من 14 إلى 18 سبتمبر 2020 وحضره أكثر من 500 مندوب. كانت هذه هي المرة الأولى التي ننظم فيها نسخة عبر الإنترنت من قمة الإنترنت الأفريقية (AIS'20).

نحن فخورون للغاية بالطريقة التي سار بها الاجتماع والدروس القيمة المستفادة خلال عملية تنظيم وإدارة مثل هذه الاجتماعات.

أردنا أن نشارك معك تحديات "وراء الكواليس" التي لم تصل إلى شاشتك أبدًا والدروس القيمة المستفادة التي يمكن أن تساعد منظمي الاجتماعات الآخرين عبر الإنترنت في المستقبل.

المنبر

شعار Meetechoكان العثور على النظام الأساسي المناسب لـ AIS تحديًا مثيرًا في حد ذاته. كان على فريق AIS البحث عن منصة شاملة وسهلة الاستخدام يمكنها استيعاب عدد المشاركين المتوقعين.

بعد مراجعة قائمة طويلة من منصات الاجتماعات الشعبية ، كان من الواضح أن سهولة الاستخدام وقابلية التوسع ليست هي المشكلة ، ومع ذلك ، فإن الشمولية ، التي تعد جزءًا حيويًا من الحمض النووي لـ AIS ، كانت تحديًا كبيرًا. هذا يؤدي إلى استبعاد العديد من المنصات التي لها وصول محدود أو ليس لها وصول في العديد من البلدان في منطقة خدمتنا. قررنا أخيرًا العمل مع فريق Meetecho لبناء منصة مصممة خصيصًا لتلبية احتياجاتنا. Meetecho عبارة عن منصة عبر الإنترنت تعتمد بالكامل على الويب ولا تتطلب تثبيت برامج.

يمكن الوصول إلى المنصة من أي مكان في العالم دون قيود. كان علينا أيضًا التأكد من أن منصة الاجتماعات وخدمات الترجمة والنسخ تعمل بشكل شامل على الرغم من تقديمها من قبل مختلف الموردين. لقد نشرنا مثل هذا الإعداد أثناء اجتماعاتنا وجهًا لوجه ، لكن بالنسبة للمؤتمر الافتراضي ، لم يكن ذلك مباشرًا كما يمكن أن نتخيله.

 

الدرس المستفاد هنا هو الاختبار ، ثم الاختبار والاختبار الثلاثي لكل شيء دون وضع افتراضات. 

عملية التسجيل

كان لدينا منظور جديد للتسجيل عبر الإنترنت. كان على المشاركين المهتمين بحضور AIS'20 التسجيل قبل الموعد النهائي المحدد لتلقي رمز الاجتماع للوصول إلى الاجتماع. ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه في غضون فترة قصيرة بعد المكالمة للتسجيل ، كان لدينا أكثر من 600 مسجل قبل الموعد النهائي بوقت طويل ، وهو ما لا يحدث أبدًا مع الاجتماعات وجهًا لوجه.

بحلول الموعد النهائي للتسجيل ، كان لدينا 697 مندوبًا مسجلين في AIS'20 Online. سيستخدم المشاركون المسجلون رمزهم المميز للوصول إلى منصة Meetecho والانضمام إلى الاجتماع الافتراضي.

 

لا يزال المشاركون الذين لم يسجلوا قادرين على متابعة AIS'20 عبر الإنترنت من خلال البث المباشر على قنوات Youtube و Facebook التي أنشأها فريق AIS Meeting. ومع ذلك ، لم يتمكن هؤلاء المشاركون من التفاعل بشكل مباشر مع الحاضرين الآخرين أو المتحدثين عبر الإنترنت كما كان الحال بالنسبة لأولئك الذين تم تسجيلهم. ومع ذلك ، يمكنهم تقديم تعليقات وأسئلة عبر غرفة Jabber التي تم توفيرها للمشاركين الذين كانوا يتابعون من خلال البث المباشر. 

بروفة

كجزء من الاختبار ، قمنا بدعوة المندوبين للتفاعل مع منصة الاجتماع قبل أسبوع من الاجتماع. كان علينا التحقق من كل شيء من اتصال الصوت والفيديو إلى دمج خدمات الترجمة والشرح. كانت هذه أيضًا فرصة لمقدمي العرض للتعرف على منصة الاجتماعات أثناء اختبار عروضهم التقديمية. حتى مع كل الاختبارات ، ما زلنا نواجه بعض التحديات في عرض العرض التقديمي والصوت خاصةً عندما يتحول المشاركون في الاجتماع إلى قناة لغة مختلفة ولكن هذا كان فقط في اليومين الأولين.

AIS'20 عبر الإنترنت

بشكل عام ، تشير الإحصائيات إلى أن أكثر من 500 مشارك فريد قاموا بتسجيل الدخول لحضور الاجتماع خلال فترة الأيام الخمسة. كان لدينا:

0
المندوبين في 14 سبتمبر
0
المندوبين في 15 سبتمبر
0
المندوبين في 16 سبتمبر
0
المندوبين في 17 سبتمبر
0
المندوبين في 18 سبتمبر (بما في ذلك الاجتماع السنوي العام للأعضاء (AGMM)

كان للاجتماع جدول أعمال مزدحم استمر لمدة أربع ساعات على مدار الأيام الخمسة مع أكثر من 50 عرضًا تقديميًا تضمنت أيضًا حلقات نقاش فنية وتحديثات من العديد من منظمات AF * وجلسات مشاركة المجتمع واجتماع أعضاء AFRINIC السنوي العام. لمزيد من المعلومات حول الجلسات والعروض التقديمية الرجاء الضغط هنا.

بينما استخدم معظم المتحدثين النظام الأساسي لمشاركة شرائحهم وتقديم عروضهم التقديمية ، قدم فريق AIS الدعم للمتحدثين الذين يحتاجون إلى المساعدة في مشاركة الشرائح على المنصة. كانت التجربة بشكل عام جيدة على الرغم من أننا واجهنا بعض التداعيات الفنية في الأيام القليلة الأولى. ومع ذلك ، تعلم الفريق كيفية معالجة مثل هذه المشكلات عند ظهورها ، ومضى اجتماعنا بشكل أكثر سلاسة مع تقدمه. لقد وضعنا هذه التحديات في كتاب دروسنا.

الانتخابات

كان المؤتمر الافتراضي يعني أن انتخابات AFRINIC أجريت عبر الإنترنت بالكامل لأول مرة. وقد أدى ذلك إلى تحول في إجراءات إجراء الانتخابات. تم إجراء انتخابات مجلس الإدارة ولجنة الحوكمة AFRINIC المخصصة للأعضاء حصريًا في MyAFRINIC في حين تطلبت الانتخابات المجتمعية لانتخابات NRO NC و PDWG عملية فحص حيث تم التحقق من هوية الناخبين وأهليتهم على النحو الواجب. كانت هناك أيضًا عملية تصويت على قرارات خاصة بشأن التغييرات على لوائح AFRINIC. 14 من أصل 28 قرارًا تم تمريره. 

 

قدم المجتمع ملاحظات مفادها أن عملية التصويت على قرارات اللوائح كانت مملة للغاية واقترح أن تعمل AFRINIC على تحسين العملية. أجريت الانتخابات عبر الإنترنت بنجاح لشغل مناصب مختلفة ؛ وظائف مجلس إدارة AFRINIC ، ومقعد واحد في لجنة الحوكمة ، والرئيس المشارك لمجموعة عمل تطوير السياسات ، ومنصب NRO NC.

مناقشات السياسة

لقد أجرينا مناقشات مجتمعية حيوية حول عشر سياسات خلال جلسات PDP التي عُقدت في 16 و 17 سبتمبر 2020. ثمانية منها لم تتوصل إلى إجماع بينما توصل الاثنان الآخران إلى إجماع تقريبي مع مراعاة بعض التغييرات على السياسات من قبل المؤلفين.

الأداء الفني

وضع الفريق الفني نظام مراقبة لمراجعة الأداء. توضح الرسوم البيانية التالية كيفية أداء بنيتنا التحتية خلال اجتماعنا الافتراضي. مع انضمام المزيد من الأشخاص إلى الاجتماع ، بدأ استخدام الشبكة في الذروة كل يوم. في اليوم الأول ، حصلنا على أعلى نسبة زيارات للشبكة.

يجتمع stat1

 

يتطلب البث أيضًا طاقة وحدة المعالجة المركزية لمعالجة الفيديو والصوت ، ويتطابق أعلى استخدام لوحدة المعالجة المركزية في اليوم الأول حيث رأينا أكبر عدد من المشاركين المتزامنين ينضمون.

يجتمع stat2

 

 

لقاء الشركاء والرعاية

من المهم الاعتراف برعاة AIS'20 عبر الإنترنت. تمت رعاية هذا الاجتماع من قبل ICANN و ISOC و dotAfrica و WACREN. نحن نقدر دعمكم المستمر.

ais20 spon1

 

 

ماذا بعد

طريقكانت AIS'20 Online تجربة تعليمية غنية للفريق بأكمله والتي جلبت العديد من التحديات مثل الفرص. نحن ممتنون للجميع ، بما في ذلك المجتمع ، الذين دعمونا خلال العملية برمتها وتحلى بالصبر خاصة عندما تنهار الأمور.

يتطلع فريق AIS الآن إلى حدث AIS التالي الذي من المقرر عقده في منتصف مايو / يونيو 2021. ما إذا كان AIS التالي سيكون عبر الإنترنت أو وجهاً لوجه أو مزيجًا من الاثنين لا يزال غير محدد. بينما نستعد لـ AIS القادم في عام 2021 ، نظل منفتحين على أي سيناريو بالنظر إلى سياق الوباء وتطوره. من خلال الخبرة المكتسبة والاستفادة من الدروس الجديدة المستفادة ، نحن الآن مستعدين لـ AIS 2021.

طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني
آخر تعديل في -
التاريخ والوقت في موريشيوس -

The Africa Internet Summit (AIS’20) Online Conference: Behind the Scenes

Published On -
The Africa Internet Summit (AIS’20) Virtual Conference: Behind the Scenes

A New Experience

ais 20 blg card2The African Network Information Centre (AFRINIC) in collaboration with the Africa Network Operators Group (AfNOG) have proudly concluded their first virtual conference (AIS’20).

The event took place virtually from 14 to 18 September 2020 and was attended by over 500 delegates. This was our first time to organise an online version of the Africa Internet Summit (AIS’20).

We are extremely proud of how the meeting went and the valuable lessons learnt throughout the process of organising and running such meetings.

We wanted to share with you the “behind the scenes” challenges that never made it to your screen and the valuable lessons learnt that could help other online meeting organisers in the future.

The Platform

meetecho logoFinding the right platform for AIS has been an interesting challenge in itself. The AIS team had to look for an inclusive and easy to use platform that could accommodate the number of expected participants.

After reviewing a long list of popular meeting platforms, it was clear that ease of use and scalability were not the issue, however, inclusivity, which is a vital part of the AIS DNA, was a major challenge. This lead to the disqualification of many platforms which have limited or no access in several countries in our service region. We finally decided on working with the Meetecho team to custom-build a platform tailored to our needs. Meetecho is an online platform that is entirely web-based and does not require software installation.

The platform is accessible from anywhere in the world without restrictions. We also had to ensure that the meeting platform, interpretation and transcription services worked holistically despite being offered by different suppliers. We deployed such setup during our face-to-face meetings but for the virtual conference, this was not as straightforward as we could imagine.

 

Lesson learned here is the test, then test and triple test everything without making assumptions. 

The Registration Process

We had a new perspective on online registration. Participants interested in attending AIS’20 had to register before a set deadline to receive a meeting token to access the meeting. It is worth noting however that within a short time following the call to register we had over 600 registrants well ahead of the deadline which is never the case with face-to-face meetings.

By the registration deadline, we had 697 delegates registered for AIS’20 Online. Registered participants would use their unique token to access the Meetecho platform and join the virtual meeting.

 

Participants who did not register were still able to follow AIS’20 Online through the live stream on Youtube and Facebook channels set up by the AIS Meeting team. However, those participants could not directly interact with other online attendees or speakers as was the case for those who were registered. They could, however, provide comments and questions via the Jabber room which was made available for participants who were following through the live stream. 

Rehearsal

As part of the testing, we invited the delegates to interact with the meeting platform one week prior to the meeting. We had to check everything from audio and video connectivity to integrating captioning and interpretation services. This was also a chance for the presenters to familiarise themselves with the meeting platform as they tested their presentations. Even with all the testing we still ended up facing some challenges with presentation projection and the audio especially when meeting participants would switch to a different language channel but this was only for the first two days.

AIS’20 Online

Overall, statistics indicate that over 500 unique participants logged in to attend the meeting over the period of the five days. We had:

0
Delegates on 14 September
0
Delegates on 15 September
0
Delegates on 16 September
0
Delegates on 17 September
0
Delegates on 18 September (including the Annual General Members Meeting (AGMM)

The meeting had a packed agenda that ran for four hours throughout the five days with over 50 presentations that also included technical panel discussions, updates from several AF* organisations, community engagement sessions and the AFRINIC Annual General Members Meeting. For more information on the sessions and presentations please click here.

While most speakers used the platform for sharing their slides and making their presentations, the AIS team offered support to speakers who required assistance with sharing slides on the platform. The overall experience was good although in the first few days we experienced a few technical fallouts.  However, the team learned to tackle such issues as they came through and our meeting moved on more seamless as it progressed. We brought these challenges in our lessons book.

Elections

The virtual conference meant that AFRINIC elections were held fully online for the first time. This resulted in a shift in procedures for holding elections. The AFRINIC Board and Governance Committee Elections which are reserved for members were carried out exclusively on MyAFRINIC while community elections for the NRO NC and PDWG elections required a screening process whereby voters’ identity and eligibility were duly verified. There was also a voting process for special resolutions on the changes on the AFRINIC bylaws. 14 out of the 28 resolutions passed. 

 

The community provided feedback that the voting process for the bylaws resolutions was quite tedious and suggested that AFRINIC improves on the process. Online elections were successfully held for various positions; AFRINIC Board Vacancies, one Governance Committee seat, Policy Development Working Group co-chair and one NRO NC position.

Policy Discussions

We had vibrant community discussions on ten policies during the PDP sessions held on 16 and 17 September 2020. Eight of these did not reach a consensus while the other two reached a rough consensus subject to some changes on the policies by authors.

Technical Performance

The technical team set up a monitoring system to review the performance. The following graphs highlight how our infrastructure performed during our virtual meeting. As more people joined the meeting the network usage started to peak on each day. On the first day, we got the highest network traffic.

meet stat1

 

Streaming also requires CPU power to process the video and audio, the highest CPU usage matches the first day where we saw the highest number of concurrent participants joining.

meet stat2

 

 

Meeting Partners and Sponsorship

It is important to acknowledge our AIS'20 Online Sponsors. This meeting was sponsored by ICANN, ISOC, dotAfrica and WACREN. We appreciate your continuous support.

ais20 spon1

 

 

What’s Next

roadAIS’20 Online was a rich learning experience for the whole team which brought as many challenges as opportunities. We are thankful to everyone, including the community, that supported us through the whole process and exercised patience especially when things broke.

The AIS team is now looking forward to the next AIS event which is scheduled for mid-May/June 2021. Whether the next AIS will be online or face-to-face or a hybrid of both remains undecided.  As we get ready for the next AIS in 2021, we remain open to any scenario given the context and evolution of the pandemic. With the experience acquired and taking aboard the new lessons learnt, we are now geared up for AIS 2021.

Last Modified on -
Date and time in Mauritius -