Info! Please note that this translation has been provided at best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

تبسيط IPv6 معالجة العملاء

طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني

جوردي باليت alta2إحدى المشكلات الرئيسية التي يخطط مزود خدمة الإنترنت لتقديمها IPv6 الخدمات هي أن تقرر كيفية مخاطبة العملاء. بطريقة عامة ، يمكننا أن نقول أن أول شيء فعله لأي شيء IPv6 النشر هو الخطة الكاملة لعنونة الشبكة ، حتى قبل الحصول على مساحة العنونة من سجل الإنترنت الإقليمي (RIR) ، لذا فهمت الأمر منذ البداية.

في حالة العملاء من الشركات ، بشكل عام لا أحد يشك في أن يحصلوا على / 48 IPv6 GUA (Global Unicast Address) في كل موقع نهائي ، وبالطبع ، يجب أن تكون هذه البادئات ثابتة (غالبًا ما تكون ثابتة) لكل عميل.

في حالة العملاء المقيمين ، عملاء المكاتب الصغيرة / المكاتب المنزلية (SOHO) أو حتى عملاء الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة ، في IPv4، اعتدنا على عنوان عام واحد غير دائم (غالبًا ما يسمى ديناميكي). علاوة على ذلك ، بسبب IPv4 استنفاد العنوان ، نتحرك نحو العناوين الخاصة في شبكة WAN الخاصة بالعميل من خلال ترجمة عنوان شبكة Carrier Grade (CGN) ،

لذا ، ما هو الشيء الصحيح الذي يجب فعله في حالة IPv6 للعملاء السكنية و SOHO؟ هذا هو السؤال الذي نحاول معالجته في هذه المقالة.

قد يكون البحث عن طرق سريعة وسهلة للقيام بخطة العنونة لديك أمرًا مغرًا ، ولكنه قد يتسبب في عواقب غير متوقعة قد تتطلب خطة جديدة ، وإعادة ترقيم عملائك ، وتكييف أنظمة التزويد ، وجعل كل شيء في النهاية أكثر تكلفة مما لو كنت قد فعلت ذلك من البداية.

لذلك ، لا تستهين بقيمة استثمار بعض الوقت والجهد الإضافيين في معرفة المزيد عن IPv6 وفهم كيف يختلف عن IPv4.

 

1. ماذا يعني استمرار مقابل غير مستمر؟

In IPv4، على الأقل للعملاء المقيمين أو عملاء SOHO ، لأننا عادةً ما نقوم بتشغيل ترجمة عنوان الشبكة (NAT) في CPE ، هناك تصور بأن استخدام البادئات غير المستمرة هو الطريقة الأسهل.

ومع ذلك ، القيام بذلك مع IPv6 شيء مختلف تمامًا ويمكن أن يكون له عواقب سلبية.

دعنا أوضح أولاً ما نعنيه بالثبات وغير المستمر ، لأنه قد يكون مربكًا مع مصطلحات أخرى مثل "(غير مستقر)" أو "ديناميكي" أو "ثابت" ، إلخ. هنا لا نشير إلى التكنولوجيا المستخدمة لتعيين العناوين أو البادئات فعليًا ، ولكن بدلاً من ذلك تكنولوجيا "ستبقى" مع نفس العميل.

بشكل عام ، يتم توفير العملاء السكنيين وعملاء SOHO باستخدام DHCP (أو DHCPv6 لـ IPv6). في كثير من الحالات ، هناك طريقة بسيطة للغاية لاستخدام DHCP وهي أن يكون لديك تجمع عناوين في كل نقطة PoP والسماح لـ PoP بتعيين العناوين ديناميكيًا (أو البادئات في IPv6 عن طريق DHCPv6-PD - تفويض البادئة).

هذه الآلية البسيطة للغاية ، إذا لم تكن مرتبطة بالعملاء ، تعني أن العناوين أو البادئات التعسفية يتم توفيرها لكل عميل عندما يتصل CPE بالشبكة ، لفترة تأجير معينة. هذا هو ما نسميه مهمة غير مستمرة ، لأنه إذا أوقف العميل CPE ، بعد وقت الإيجار ، سيحصل على عنوان مختلف ( IPv4) و / أو البادئة (لـ IPv6) المره القادمة.

ومع ذلك ، إذا جعلنا عقد الإيجار طويلًا جدًا ، ربما أسابيع أو أشهر ، بدلاً من بضع دقائق أو أيام ، سيحصل العميل على نفس العنوان أو البادئة. ستكون هذه مهمة "مستمرة".

إذا كان DHCP / DHCPv6 مرتبطًا ببعض أنظمة التوفير الأكثر تطوراً ، والتي في الواقع يمكن أن تكون بسيطة مثل قاعدة البيانات التي تربط عملاء محددين بعناوين / بادئات محددة ، عندها لدينا أيضًا مهام "دائمة". يمكن القيام بذلك ، على سبيل المثال ، من خلال استخدام نظام AAA (المصادقة والترخيص والمحاسبة) مثل Radius أو Diameter ، والذي يتوفر بشكل شائع جدًا في أي مزود خدمة إنترنت ، لأسباب أمنية ولمنع كل من العملاء وغير العملاء من تقديم الاستخدام المصرح به للشبكة.

 

2. البادئات الثابتة مقابل غير الثابتة

من الوصف أعلاه ، قد يبدو أن التعيينات غير المستمرة هي الخيار الأسهل ، ولكن في الواقع IPv6 أنت حقًا بحاجة إلى إدارة العناوين عن طريق نظام IPAM (إدارة عناوين IP). محاولة استخدام أدوات بسيطة مثلما نفعل في كثير من الأحيان IPv4، مثل جدول البيانات أو معالج النصوص ، لن يعمل بسبب الحجم الكبير لل IPv6 معالجة الفضاء.

الميزة هي أن أنظمة IPAM غالبًا ما تأتي مع وظائف مثل DHCP / DHCPv6 / DHCPv6-PD و DNS. لذلك ، يمكنهم تولي تعيين البادئة للعملاء لكل PoP بحيث يصبح في النهاية أبسط من وجود تجمع لكل PoP والسماح بتعيين عناوين عشوائية لكل عميل عند الاتصال. مع ذلك يمكنك الفوز بمزيد من التحكم في المعلمات عبر شبكتك.

هناك ميزة إضافية واحدة لاستخدام البادئات المستمرة ، سواء من جانب المستخدم أو من جانب مزود خدمة الإنترنت. إن وجود نفس العناوين يعني أن مزود خدمة الإنترنت يمكنه تقديم خدمات جديدة للعملاء ، ولا يحتاجون إلى وجود أنظمة معقدة لربط هذه الخدمات بـ "تغيير" العناوين داخل شبكة العميل. أيضا ، يمكن للمستخدمين إنشاء خدماتهم الخاصة دون أي قيود.

لذلك ، على سبيل المثال ، يمكن لمزود خدمة الإنترنت تقديم خدمة DNS المتقدمة لأجهزة المستخدم ، مثل camera1.username.ispname.com أو main-door.username.ispname.com ، إلخ. أو يمكنهم نشر خدمات VPN داخل الشبكة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن أن تكون البادئات المستمرة بمثابة حافز للعملاء للبقاء مع ISP. كل هذه الجوانب قد تجلب إيرادات إضافية.

هناك اعتبار أخير: هل ستقوم بشيء مختلف ، من حيث الثبات ، للشركات مقابل أنواع العملاء الأخرى؟ هل لديك شبكات متباينة أو أنظمة توفير؟ لا أظن أنه من المنطقي أن يكون لديك بادئات غير ثابتة للسكنية / الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة / الصغيرة والمتوسطة الحجم والأخرى الثابتة للعملاء من الشركات.

على أي حال ، أقترح بشدة أن تقدم المثابرة IPv6 البادئات.

إذا لم تكن مقتنعًا بعد ، فلنلقِ نظرة على المشكلات التي تسببها البادئات غير الدائمة ، على سبيل المثال عندما يتعلق الأمر بفشل الشبكة أو انقطاع التيار الكهربائي أو المواقف المشابهة.

لنفترض أن عميلاً تم توفيره في المرحلة الأولى بالبادئة 2001: db8: 1111 :: / 48. تستخدم أجهزتهم ، على سبيل المثال ، أول إصدار مجاني / 64 (2001: db8: 1111 :: 1/64). كل شيء على ما يرام حتى يكون هناك انقطاع التيار الكهربائي. يتم تشغيل CPE مرة أخرى عندما يتم استرداد الطاقة ، ولأن ISP يستخدم بادئة غير ثابتة ، يتم تعيين بادئة جديدة (2001: db8: 2222 :: / 48) ، لذلك فإن CPE تعلن الآن 2001: db8: 2222 :: 1/64.

ومع ذلك ، لا تزال الأجهزة التي تحتوي على بطارية (أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة والأجهزة اللوحية والهواتف الذكية) تحتوي على البادئة السابقة ، لذا أصبح لديها الآن باديتان مختلفتان (2001: db8: 1111 :: 1/64 و 2001: db8: 2222 :: 1/64) . ستحاول هذه الأجهزة الاستمرار في استخدام الجهاز الأقدم ، ولن تعمل ، لأن مزود خدمة الإنترنت لم يعد يوجه البادئة الأولى إلى ذلك العميل. مجرد التفكير: إذا حدث فشل آخر في الشبكة أو انقطاع التيار الكهربائي الآن. يمكن أن تحتوي الأجهزة بعد ذلك على ثلاثة بادئات أو أكثر. وسوف ينتهي الأمر بالمستخدم إلى استدعاء مكتب مساعدة ISP لاستكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها ، لأن الشبكة لا تعمل.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يقوم مقدمو المحتوى الكبار بقياس "IPv6 الكسر ". سيؤدي الموقف الموضح أعلاه إلى زيادة معدل فشل شبكتك ، لذا سيتوقفون عن عرض سجلات AAAA لتلك الشبكة وستعود حركة المرور الخاصة بك إلى IPv4. إذا كنت تستخدم CGN ، فهذا يعني استخدام CGN إضافي ، مما يؤدي إلى تكاليف إضافية ، وتأخيرات إضافية ، وما إلى ذلك.

علاوة على ذلك ، إذا كنت تستخدم بادئات دائمة ، فهناك ميزة أخرى ، لأنها تعني أن لكل عميل دائمًا نفس البادئة ، مما يعني أنك لست بحاجة إلى تسجيل تلك الاتصالات لاعتراضها القانوني ، حيث أن كل شيء ثابت - "كل بادئة واحدة مخصصة" ، وخفض التكاليف الخاصة بك وحتى تبسيط استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها في حالة حدوث أي فشل.

بالطبع ، عندما نقترح تعيين بادئات دائمة ، فإننا لا نفكر في "قابلية الحمل". إذا كان مستخدم الصفحة الرئيسية / SOHO ينتقل من موقع إلى آخر ، فسوف يحتاجون إلى إيقاف تشغيل شبكتهم ونقلها إلى المنزل الجديد ، وطلب إعداد اتصال إنترنت جديد ، وما إلى ذلك. لذلك ، يجب ألا يتوقعوا (ما لم تكن هي نفسها بناء أو حي) ، سيحصلون على نفس البادئة - إلا إذا كنت تريد تقديم هذا كخدمة إضافية.

قد تكون هناك حالة خاصة للعملاء الذين لديهم مخاوف تتعلق بالخصوصية: إذا اعتبروا البادئة (وليس العنوان) بيانات شخصية ، فقد يكون للعميل الحق في تغييرها من وقت لآخر. في IPv6 لا ينبغي أن يكون هذا مشكلة كبيرة ، لأن أنظمة التشغيل تستخدم عناوين الخصوصية لتجنب تتبع المستخدمين ، علاوة على ذلك ، تعتمد التقنيات الحديثة للتتبع على العديد من المعلمات الأخرى التي تم الحصول عليها من المتصفح والتطبيقات وما إلى ذلك.

ومع ذلك ، يمكن حل ذلك عن طريق السماح للمستخدمين باختيار بادئة غير دائمة في واجهة إدارة اتصال الإنترنت الخاصة بهم.

3. ترقيم رابط WAN

هناك العديد من الاحتمالات لترقيم الرابط الذي يربط شبكة ISP و CPE للعميل (رابط WAN). دعونا وصف كل واحد وفهم إيجابيات وسلبيات.

3.1. بادئة A / 64 من IPv6 البادئة المخصصة للعميل
يتم استخدام هذا من قبل عدد من مزودي خدمات الإنترنت وقد تم وصفه في وثيقة IETF (إرشادات الترقيم IPv6 روابط من نقطة إلى نقطة وتيسير خطط العنونة). هذا يعني أنه ، على سبيل المثال ، إذا قمت بتعيين / 48 للعميل ، فسيتم استخدام أول / 64 لارتباط WAN ، ويتم استخدامه في الشبكات الخلوية. هناك العديد من المزايا ، حيث إنها تبسط التوجيه والإدارة ، ولكنها لا تعمل إلا إذا كان CPE يتبع RFC6603 (خيار استبعاد البادئة لتفويض البادئة المستند إلى DHCPv6). ومع ذلك ، لأن معظم IPv6 يجب أن تتبع CPEs RFC7084 (المتطلبات الأساسية لـ IPv6 أجهزة توجيه حافة العملاء) ، التي توصي بالفعل بدعم RFC6603 ، من المتوقع أن تعمل أجهزة CPE الحديثة في هذه الحالة.

3.2. بادئة A / 64 من مخصصة IPv6 تجمع البادئات WAN
ربما يكون هذا هو الخيار الأكثر شيوعًا وأقرب إلى ما يتم القيام به غالبًا IPv4. يعني وجود مجموعة منفصلة تماما من IPv6 البادئات لروابط WAN ، لذلك في هذه الحالة لا يوجد ارتباط بين بادئة العميل والبادئة المستخدمة على ارتباط WAN. يتميز التجمع المخصص بقدرته على تطبيق سياسات الأمان بشكل صريح لتلك التجمعات ؛ ومع ذلك ، تجدر الإشارة إلى أن هذا لا يكون صحيحًا إلا إذا كان لدى جميع العملاء CPE في نهايتهم ، وإلا فسيضر المستخدمين دون CPE.

3.3. غير مرقم
بدلاً من استخدام GUA ، يستخدم الارتباط IPv6 عناوين الارتباط المحلي. في هذه الحالة ، قد لا يعمل CPE ولا يبقى غير مرقم لأنه قد يكون غير قادر على طلب بادئة باستخدام DHCPv6-PD. سيفشل هذا أيضًا إذا تم استخدام نظام تشغيل بدلاً من CPE ، والذي لا يدعم DHCPv6-PD. قد يبدو أسهل في التنفيذ من الخيارات الأخرى الموضحة هنا ، ولكن نظرًا لأن عناوين الارتباط المحلية غير مرئية في أدوات مثل traceroute ، فإنها تجعل استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها أكثر تعقيدًا.

3.4. ULA
ترقيم ارتباط WAN بـ IPv6 ULAs (عناوين Unicast المحلية الفريدة) غير محبذة بشدة ، لأنها قد تتسبب في عدد من المشاكل. على سبيل المثال ، إذا احتاج CPE إلى إرسال ICMPv6 إلى مضيف خارج شبكة ISP ، فستحتوي الحزمة على عنوان مصدر ULA ، ولن تجتاز جهاز توجيه ISP upstream ، وبالتالي كسر PMTUD (Path MTU Discovery) ، و IPv6 اتصال إذا لم يكن MTU هو نفسه من خلال المسار بأكمله. مرة أخرى ، قد يجعل هذا استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها أكثر صعوبة.

هناك مشكلة أخرى تتعلق ارتباط WAN ، والتي تشير إلى اختيار طول بادئة ارتباط WAN. يستخدم بعض ISPs الافتراضي / 64 ، كافتراضي IPv6 حجم الشبكة الفرعية (نظرًا لأن ارتباط WAN هو شبكة فرعية أخرى). يقترح RFC6164 استخدام / 127 ، ولكن مزودي خدمات الإنترنت الآخرين يستخدمون / 126 أو / 112 ، من بين خيارات أخرى.

ومع ذلك ، يجب ملاحظة أن بعض الأجهزة بها قيود على البادئات التي تزيد عن / 64 ، وقد لا يسمح البعض باستخدام أي شيء آخر غير / 64. استخدام / 64 هو مستقبلية وله ميزة السماح ارتباط نقطة إلى نقطة؛ أن يكون لديك أجهزة إضافية مثل الجسور المدارة أو استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها أو أجهزة المراقبة ؛ أو حتى توفر عالية عن طريق VRRPv3 ، الخ

أخيرًا وليس آخرًا ، إذا قررت استخدام / 127 ، يجب أن تفكر في تخصيص / 64 الكامل ، حتى لو كنت تستخدم / 127 ، لذلك يمكنك منع هجوم استنفاد الجيران (RFC6583).

لاحظ أن المناقشة حول "المثابرة" في الأقسام الأولى من هذا المستند ذات صلة فقط بـ IPv6 البادئات المخصصة للعميل للاستخدام داخل شبكته ، وليس البادئة المستخدمة لرابط WAN ، والتي قد تكون "غير مستمرة". ومع ذلك ، فإن معظم مزودي خدمات الإنترنت سيجعلونه دائمًا دائمًا ويتم معالجته تلقائيًا بواسطة نظام التوفير.

 

4. خيارات حجم بادئة تعيين العميل

كنقطة انطلاق ، نحتاج إلى تذكير أنفسنا بالقواعد الذهبية الثلاثة التي يجب مراعاتها IPv6:

  1. حجم الشبكة الفرعية القياسي هو / 64.
  2. يجب أن يكون العملاء قادرين على الشبكات الفرعية الخاصة بهم ، مما يعني أنهم بحاجة إلى تعيين nx / 64 (هكذا واحد / 64 هو أبدا خيار صحيح).
  3. للحفاظ على معالجة خطط قابلة للاستخدام وقابلة للفهم وللمحاذاة مع تفويضات المنطقة العكسية لـ DNS ، يجب أن يكون حجم البادئة المعينة للعميل متوافقًا مع حدود nibble (4 بت).

سياسات RIRs ، في جميع المناطق الخمس ، تسمح بتعيين / 48 لكل موقع نهائي ، ومن الواضح أنه على مستوى العالم من الممارسات المفهومة جيدًا والشائعة جدًا تعيين / 48 لكل موقع نهائي للشركة.

علاوة على ذلك ، جديد IETF العمل، "فريد IPv6 البادئة لكل مضيف "، توضح الحاجة إلى تعدد / 64 في كل موقع نهائي وربما أكثر بكثير مما افترضناه حتى الآن ، حيث أصبح الأمر أكثر تكرارًا ، حتى في حالة الاستخدام السكني ، للحصول على الأجهزة التي تعمل عدة أجهزة افتراضية. هذا يعني أنه قد يكون من الضروري عزل تلك الأجهزة المختلفة في شبكات فرعية مختلفة (وبالتالي مختلفة / 64 ثانية). يحدث هذا بالمثل مع البروتوكولات الجديدة مثل Homenet ، التي تستخدم / 48 من مزود خدمة الإنترنت ثم تعيينات فرعية / 56 إلى أجهزة التوجيه في اتجاه التيار.

أخيرًا ، من الواضح أنه في العديد من البلدان ، يحصل العملاء من الشركات (على الأقل الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة و SOHO) على نفس الروابط ، لأن قدرات النطاق العريض تتزايد بسرعة لجميع أنواع العملاء. الاختلاف الوحيد الممكن هو اتفاقيات مستوى الخدمة وقد يكون عددًا من العامة IPv4 عناوين. لذا ، علينا أن نأخذ في الاعتبار أن الاختلافات القديمة في الخدمة / التسويق / المبيعات حسب عدد العناوين ، لم تعد ذات معنى مع IPv6.

بالنظر إلى ما ورد أعلاه ، فيما يلي خيارات أحجام المهام للعملاء:

4.1. A / 48 لجميع العملاء

هذه توصيتي لأنها تتيح خطة معالجة بسيطة ومباشرة ، وبالتالي تقلل من خطر ارتكاب الأخطاء. كما أن لديها ميزة أنه إذا احتاج العملاء إلى استخدام ULAs ، أو استخدموا آليات تم نقلها مسبقًا ، فإن أحجام البادئة تتطابق وأنهم لا يحتاجون إلى وجود خطط عناوين داخلية مختلفة ، حيث يتم تعيينهم مباشرةً في كل بادئة مختلفة.

4.2. A / 48 للشركات و / 56 للسكنية

من الممكن النظر في التوصية السابقة فقط للعملاء من الشركات الراقية ثم استخدام / 56 للباقي ، ولكن كما هو موضح من قبل ، فإن هذا النوع من التمايز في التسويق / الخدمة لم يعد له معنى بعد الآن في IPv6. في المستقبل القريب ، سيعني ذلك أنك مضطر إلى إعادة خطة العنونة الخاصة بك وإعادة ترقيم عملائك ، والذي يأتي بتكلفة. إذا لم يكن لديك مساحة عنوان كافية لتعيين / 48 لجميع عملائك ، يمكنك الرجوع إلى RIR واطلب المزيد ، مع تبريره بخطة العنونة الكاملة. كبديل ، يمكنك حجز / 48 لكل عميل ولكن في الواقع قم بتعيين 56 فقط ، لذلك بدلاً من إعادة الترقيم في المستقبل ، ستقوم فقط بزيادة حجم البادئة.

4.3. بادئات أطول من / 56

هذا هو بالتأكيد أسوأ شيء يمكنك القيام به ، لذلك يجب أن أنصح بشدة. لا يوجد سبب وجيه لتعيين بادئات أطول من / 56 لأي عميل.

هناك حالة خاصة ، خارج نطاق هذا المستند ، بالنسبة لـ / 64 واحدة ، الاستثناء الوحيد الممكن للقواعد المذكورة أعلاه ، وهي الشبكات الخلوية. في تلك الشبكات ، يتم تعيين كل سياق PDP لهاتف ذكي أو جهاز مشابه على رقم واحد / 64. ومع ذلك ، يمكنهم أيضًا استخدام DHCPv6-PD لطلب بادئات أقصر ، كما يحدث في حالة أجهزة المودم / الموجهات 3G / LTE ، والتي تُستخدم غالبًا لتقديم النطاق العريض في المناطق التي لا توفر فيها تقنية أخرى التغطية.


5. الاستنتاجات

اتخاذ خيارات خاطئة عند تصميم الخاص بك IPv6 سيكون للشبكة عاجلاً أم آجلاً آثار سلبية على عملية النشر الخاصة بك وتتطلب المزيد من الجهود مثل إعادة الترقيم عندما تكون الشبكة قيد التشغيل بالفعل. ولذلك ينبغي مقاومة إغراء اتخاذ نهج "سهلة" لنشر أسرع.
كمجموعة عامة من التوصيات ، يجب مراعاة ما يلي:

5.1 IPv6 ليس هو نفسه كما IPv4. في IPv6، تقوم بتعيين بادئة قصيرة لكل موقع نهائي ، حتى يتمكنوا من امتلاك العدد المطلوب من الشبكات الفرعية (/ 64 ثانية). لا ينبغي أن تهتم باستنفاد IPv6 معالجة المساحة ، ويجب أن تفكر بشكل كبير عند التخطيط للمتطلبات المستقبلية. إذا كنت بحاجة إلى مساحة أكبر ، يمكنك العودة إلى RIR وتوفير خطة العنونة يبرر الحاجة ، يمكنك الحصول على المزيد IPv6 عناوين.

5.2 هو عليه تثبط بقوة لتعيين بادئات أطول من / 56 ، لذلك فإن اختياراتك هي:

  1. توصيتي وإذا كنت تريد خطة عنونة بسيطة ، فقم بتعيين / 48 لكل عميل. سيعمل هذا بشكل جيد للغاية للعملاء القادمين من مزودي خدمات الإنترنت الآخرين ، أو أولئك الذين لديهم ULA ، أو يستخدمون آليات الانتقال. سيكون ذلك أيضًا أسهل عندما يكون لديك مزيج من العملاء يستخدمون نفس البنية التحتية ، سواء كانوا عملاءًا سكنيين أو شركات صغيرة ومتوسطة الحجم أو حتى شركات كبيرة.
  2. التفريق بين أنواع العملاء ، حتى لو كان ذلك سيزيد من تعقيد شبكتك وتلك الخاصة بعملائك. تقديم / 48 للعملاء من رجال الأعمال و / 56 للعملاء المقيمين. كما هو موضح ، هذا ليس برهانًا في المستقبل ولن تعمل بعض البروتوكولات الجديدة ، لذا فكر في الأمر بعناية لأنه قد يعني أنك ستحتاج عاجلاً أم آجلاً إلى إعادة الخطة وإعادة ترقيمها.
  3. قد يكون الحل الوسط هو حجز / 48 للعملاء السكنيين ، ولكن في الواقع مجرد تعيين الأول / 56.

5.3 هناك حالة معينة للهواتف الخلوية ، يتم تخصيصها / 64 لكل سياق PDP ، ولكن هذا خارج نطاق هذا المستند.

5.4 من أجل تسهيل استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها والحصول على شبكة مستقبلية ، يجب أن تفكر في ترقيم روابط WAN باستخدام GUAs (Global Unicast Addresses) ، باستخدام البادئة الأولى / 64 من مجموعة العملاء أو / 64 من مجموعة مخصصة من IPv6 البادئات. إذا قررت استخدام a / 127 لكل ارتباط من نقطة إلى نقطة ، فمن المستحسن تخصيص a / 64 لكل ارتباط واستخدام واحد فقط / 127 خارجه.

5.5 تعتبر البادئات غير المستمرة ضارة في IPv6 نظرًا لأنه لا يمكنك تجنب المشكلات التي قد تكون ناجمة عن انقطاع بسيط في قدرة العميل ، لذا فإن تعيين البادئات المستمرة يعد طريقة أكثر أمانًا وبساطة. علاوة على ذلك ، يتجنب هذا الحاجة إلى تسجيل الدخول الباهظ الثمن ، ويزيد من فرصك في تقديم أعمال جديدة للعملاء ، ويقلل من توقف العملاء.


تعتمد هذه المقالة جزئيًا على العمل الذي تم في RIPE BCOP WG (أفضل الممارسات التشغيلية الحالية للمشغلين: IPv6 تعيين بادئة للعملاء النهائيين - المستمر مقابل غير المستمر ، والحجم الذي يجب اختياره). للحصول على المستند الكامل ، انظر RIPE BCOP WG.


يعمل Jordi Palet Martínez مع أجهزة الكمبيوتر والشبكات والتكنولوجيا منذ أن كان عمره 8 سنوات. على مدى السنوات الـ 18 الماضية ، كان الرئيس التنفيذي / كبير مسؤولي التقنية في "The IPv6 الشركة "، حيث كرس معظم وقته له IPv6 البحث والتطوير والتوحيد والتدريب والاستشارات.

آخر تعديل في -
التاريخ والوقت في موريشيوس -

Info! Please note that this translation has been provided at best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

Simplifying IPv6 Addressing of Customers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

jordi palet alta2One of the main issues when an ISP is planning to deliver IPv6 services is to decide how to address the customers. In a generic way, we could say that the first thing to do for any IPv6 deployment is the complete network addressing plan, even before obtaining your addressing space from your Regional Internet Registry (RIR), so you get it right from the very beginning.

In the case of corporate customers, generally nobody doubts that they should receive a /48 IPv6 GUA (Global Unicast Address) at every end-site, and of course, those prefixes should be persistent (often called static) to each customer.

In the case of residential customers, small office/home office (SOHO) customers or even SME customers, in IPv4, we are used to a single non-persistent (often called dynamic) public address. Moreover, because of IPv4 address exhaustion, we are moving towards private addresses in the customer WAN by means of Carrier Grade Network Address Translation (CGN),

So, what is the right thing to do in the case of IPv6 for residential and SOHO customers? This is the question we are trying to address in this article.

Looking for quick and easy ways to do your addressing plan, might be tempting, but might cause unexpected consequences that may require a new plan, renumbering your customers, adapting your provisioning systems, and ultimately make everything much more expensive than if you had done it right from the start.

So, don’t underestimate the value of investing some extra time and effort in learning more about IPv6 and understanding how it is different from IPv4.

 

1. What does persistent versus non-persistent mean?

In IPv4, at least for residential or SOHO customers, because we typically run Network Address Translation (NAT) in the CPE, there is a perception that using non-persistent prefixes is the easier approach.

However, doing that with IPv6 is a very different thing and could have negative consequences.

Let’s clarify first what we mean by persistent and non-persistent, as it might be confusing with other terminology such as “(non-)stable”, “dynamic”, “static”, etc. Here we don’t refer to technology used for actually assigning the addresses or prefixes, but instead technology that will “stay” with the same customer.

In general, residential and SOHO customers are provisioned using DHCP (or DHCPv6 for IPv6). In many cases, a very simple way to use DHCP is to have an address pool at every PoP and allow the PoP to assign addresses dynamically (or prefixes in IPv6 by means of DHCPv6-PD – Prefix Delegation).

This very simple mechanism, if not tied to customers, means that arbitrary addresses or prefixes are provided to each customer when the CPE connects to the network, for a given lease time. This is what we call a non-persistent assignment, because if the customer turns off the CPE, after the lease time, they will get a different address (for IPv4) and/or prefix (for IPv6) next time.

However, if we make the lease time very long, maybe weeks or months, instead of just a few minutes or days, the customer will get the same address or prefix. This will be a “persistent” assignment.

If the DHCP/DHCPv6 is tied to some more sophisticated provisioning system, which actually can be as simple as a database correlating specific customers to specific addresses/prefixes, then we have also “persistent” assignments. This can be done, for example, by using an AAA (Authentication, Authorization and Accounting) system such as Radius or Diameter, which is very commonly available at any ISP, for security reasons and to disallow both customers and non-customers to make non-authorised usage of the network.

 

2. Persistent versus non-persistent prefixes

From the description above, it might seem that non-persistent assignments is the easier choice, but in fact, in IPv6 you really need to manage the addresses by means of an IPAM (IP Address Management) system. Trying to use simple tools like we often do in IPv4, such as a spreadsheet or word processor, will not work due to the sheer size of the IPv6 addressing space.

The advantage is that those IPAM systems often come with functionalities such as DHCP/DHCPv6/DHCPv6-PD and DNS. Therefore, they can take over the prefix assignment to customers for each PoP so that, in the end, it becomes even simpler than having a pool for each PoP and allowing arbitrary addresses to be assigned to each customer as they connect. With that you win more control over the parameters across your network.

There is one additional advantage of using persistent prefixes, both from the user and the ISP side. Having the same addresses means the ISP can offer new services to the customers, and they don’t need to have complex systems to correlate those services to “changing” addresses inside the customer network. Also, the users can create their own services without any constraints.

So, for example, the ISP can offer advanced DNS service for user devices, such as camera1.username.ispname.com, or main-door.username.ispname.com, etc. Or they can deploy VPN services inside the network. In addition to that, persistent prefixes can be an incentive for customers to remain with their ISP. All those aspects may bring additional revenues.

There is one final consideration: Are you going to do something different, in terms of persistency, for corporate versus other types of customers? Do you have differentiated networks or provisioning systems? I don’t think it make much sense, to have non-persistent prefixes for residential/SOHO/SMEs and persistent ones for corporate customers.

In any case, I strongly suggest to offer persistent IPv6 prefixes.

If you’re not convinced yet, let’s take a look to the problems caused by non-persistent prefixes, for instance when it comes to network failures, power outages, or similar situations.

Let’s suppose a customer provisioned in the first stage with the prefix 2001:db8:1111::/48. Their devices are using, for our example, the first free /64 (2001:db8:1111::1/64). Everything is fine until there is a power outage. The CPE boots up again when power is recovered, and because the ISP is using a non-persistent prefix, a new prefix is assigned (2001:db8:2222::/48), so now the CPE is announcing 2001:db8:2222::1/64.

However, the devices that have battery (laptops, tablets, smartphones) still have the previous prefix, so now they have two different prefixes (2001:db8:1111::1/64 and 2001:db8:2222::1/64). These devices will try to keep using the older one, and they will not work, as the ISP is no longer routing the first prefix to that customer. Just think: if another network failure or power outage were to happen now. Devices could then have three or even more prefixes. And the user will end up calling the ISP help-desk for troubleshooting, because the network is not working.

In addition to that, big content providers are measuring “IPv6 brokenness”. The situation described above will increase the failure rate of your network, so they will stop serving AAAA records to that network and your traffic will go back to IPv4. If you are using CGN, it means extra CGN usage, resulting in extra costs, extra delays, and so on.

Furthermore, if you use persistent prefixes, there is another advantage, because it means each customer always has the same prefix, which means you don’t need to log those connections for lawful interception, as everything is static — “each custom same prefix”, lowering your costs and even simplifying troubleshooting in case of any failures.

Of course, when we suggest assigning persistent prefixes, we aren’t considering “portability”. If a home/SOHO user moves from one location to another, they will need to switch off their network and move it to the new house, ask for a new Internet connectivity setup, etc. So, they must not expect (unless it’s the same building or neighbourhood), that they will get the same prefix – unless you want to offer this as an extra service.

There may be a special case for customers with privacy concerns: if they consider the prefix (not the address) as personal data, the customer might have the right to get it changed from time to time. In IPv6 this should not be a significant issue, because OSes use privacy addresses to avoid tracking users, and furthermore, modern technologies for tracking rely on many other parameters obtained from the browser, apps, etc.

However, this can be solved by allowing the users to choose a non-persistent prefix in their Internet connection management interface.

3. Numbering the WAN link

There are several possibilities for numbering the link that interconnects the ISP network and the customer CPE (the WAN link). Let’s describe each one and understand the pros and cons.

3.1. A /64 prefix from the IPv6 prefix assigned to the customer
This is being used by a number of ISPs and has been described in an IETF document (Guidelines for Numbering IPv6 Point-to-Point Links and Easing the Addressing Plans). It means that, for example, if you assign a /48 to the customer, the first /64 will be used for the WAN link, and is being used in cellular networks. There are many advantages, as it simplifies routing and management, but works only if the CPE is following RFC6603 (Prefix Exclude Option for DHCPv6-based Prefix Delegation). However, because most of the IPv6 CPEs should follow RFC7084 (Basic Requirements for IPv6 Customer Edge Routers), which already recommends supporting RFC6603, it is expected that modern CPEs will work in this situation.

3.2. A /64 prefix from a dedicated IPv6 pool for WAN prefixes
This is probably the most common choice and indeed closer to what is often done for IPv4. It means having a totally separated pool of IPv6 prefixes for the WAN links, so in this case there is no correlation between the customer prefix and the one used on the WAN link. A dedicated pool has the advantage of being able to apply security policies explicitly for those pools; however, it should be noted that this is only true if all customers have a CPE at their end, as, otherwise, it will harm users without a CPE.

3.3. Unnumbered
Instead of using a GUA, the link uses IPv6 link-local addresses. In this case, the CPE may not work and stay unnumbered because it may be unable to request a prefix using DHCPv6-PD. This will also fail if instead of a CPE, an OS is used, which does not support DHCPv6-PD. It may look easier to implement than the other choices described here, but because the link-local addresses aren’t visible in tools such as traceroute, it makes troubleshooting more complex.

3.4. ULA
Numbering the WAN link with IPv6 ULAs (Unique Local Unicast Addresses) is strongly discouraged, as it may cause a number of problems. For example, if the CPE needs to send ICMPv6 to a host outside the ISP network, the packet will have an ULA source address, and will not traverse the ISP upstream router, therefore breaking PMTUD (Path MTU Discovery), and the IPv6 connection if the MTU is not the same through the whole path. Again, this might make troubleshooting more difficult.

There is one more issue related to the WAN link, which refers to the choice of the WAN link prefix length. Some ISPs just use the default /64, as the default IPv6 subnet size (as the WAN link is one more subnet). RFC6164 suggests using /127, but other ISPs use /126 or /112, among other choices.

However, it must be noted that some hardware has limitations for prefixes longer than /64, and some may not even allow using anything other than /64. Using a /64 is futureproof and has the advantage of allowing a point to point link; to have additional devices such as managed bridges, troubleshooting or monitoring devices; or even high availability by means of VRRPv3, etc.

Last, but not least, if you decide to use /127, you should consider allocating the complete /64, even if you use one /127, so you prevent the Neighbour Discovery exhaustion attack (RFC6583).

Note that the discussion about “persistence” in the first sections of this document is relevant only to the IPv6 prefixes assigned to the customer for using inside its network, and not the prefix used for the WAN link, which may be “non-persistent”. However, typically most of the ISPs will also make it persistent and is automatically handled by the provisioning system.

 

4. Customer assignment prefix size choices

As a starting point, we need to remind ourselves of the three golden rules that need to be considered with IPv6:

  1. The standard subnet size is /64.
  2. Customers must be able to subnet their networks, which means that they need to be assigned n x /64 (so a single /64 is NEVER a valid choice).
  3. To keep addressing plans usable and understandable and to align with DNS reverse zone delegations, the size of the prefix assigned to the customer must be aligned with a nibble boundary (4 bits).

The policies of the RIRs, in all the five regions, allow assigning a /48 to each end-site, and it is clear that globally it is a well-understood and very common practice to assign a /48 to each corporate end-site.

Furthermore, a new IETF work, “Unique IPv6 Prefix Per Host”, shows the need for multiple /64’s in each end-site and probably many more than what we assumed up to now, as it becomes more and more frequent, even in the case of residential usage, to have devices that run several virtual machines. This means that it may be a requirement to isolate those different VMs in different subnets (therefore, different /64s). This similarly happens with new protocols such as Homenet, which uses a /48 from the ISP and then subassigns /56’s to downstream routers.

Finally, it is clear that in many countries, corporate customers (at least SMEs and SOHO) get the same links, because broadband capacities are increasing quickly for all kind of customers. The only possible differentiation are SLAs and may be a number of public IPv4 addresses. So, we need to consider that older service/marketing/sales differentiations by the number of addresses, are not meaningful anymore with IPv6.

Considering the above, here are the choices for assignment sizes to customers:

4.1. A /48 for all the customers

This is my recommendation as it allows a very simple and straightforward addressing plan and thereby reduces the risk of making mistakes. It also has the advantage that if the customers need to use ULAs, or they have used previously transitioned mechanisms, the prefix sizes match and they don’t need to have different internal addressing plans, as they directly map into each different prefix.

4.2. A /48 for corporate and a /56 for residential

It is possible to consider the previous recommendation just for high-end corporate customers and then use a /56 for the rest, but as explained before, this kind of marketing/service differentiation doesn’t make much sense anymore in IPv6. In the near future, it will mean that you are forced to redo your addressing plan and renumber your customers, which comes with a cost. If you don’t have enough address space to assign a /48 to all of your customers, you can go back to your RIR and ask for more, justifying it with the complete addressing plan. As an alternative, you can reserve a /48 to each customer but actually assign them just a /56, so instead of renumbering in the future, you will just increase the prefix size.

4.3. Prefixes longer than /56

This is definitely the worst thing you can do, so I must strongly advise against. There is no valid reason to assign longer prefixes than a /56 to any customer.

There is a special case, outside the scope of this document, for a single /64, the only possible exception to the rules above described, which is cellular networks. In those networks, each PDP context of a smartphone or similar device gets assigned a single /64. Nevertheless, they can also use DHCPv6-PD to request shorter prefixes, as happens in the case of 3G/LTE modems/routers, which often are used to deliver broadband in areas where no other technology offers coverage.


5. Conclusions

Making wrong choices when designing your IPv6 network will sooner or later have negative implications on your deployment and require further efforts such as renumbering when the network is already in operation. The temptation to take “easy” approaches for quicker deployment should therefore be resisted.
As a generic set of recommendations, you should consider the following:

5.1 IPv6 is not the same as IPv4. In IPv6, you assign a short prefix to each end-site, so they are able to have as many subnets (/64s) as they need. You should not be concerned with exhausting the IPv6 addressing space, and you should think big when planning future requirements. If you need more space, you can go back to your RIR and, providing your addressing plan justifies the need, you can obtain more IPv6 addresses.

5.2 It is strongly discouraged to assign prefixes longer than a /56, so your choices are:

  1. My recommendation and if you want a simple addressing plan, assign a /48 to each customer. This will work very well for customers coming from other ISPs, those that have their own ULA, or have been using transition mechanisms. This will also be easier when you have a mix of customers using the same infrastructure, whether they are residential customers, SMEs or even large corporates.
  2. Differentiate among types of customers, even if this will increase the complexity of your network and those of your customers. Offer a /48 to business customers and a /56 for residential customers. As explained, this is not future proof and some new protocols will not work, so consider it carefully as it may mean that sooner or later you need to redo the plan and renumber.
  3. A compromise could be to reserve a /48 for residential customers, but actually just assigning them the first /56.

5.3 There is a specific case for cellular phones, to be assigned a single /64 for each PDP context, but this is outside the scope of this document.

5.4 In order to facilitate troubleshooting and have a future-proof network, you should consider numbering the WAN links using GUAs (Global Unicast Addresses), using either the first /64 prefix out of the customer pool or a /64 from a dedicated pool of IPv6 prefixes. If you decide to use a /127 for each point-to-point link, it is advisable to allocate a /64 for each link and just use one /127 out of it.

5.5 Non-persistent prefixes are considered harmful in IPv6 as you can’t avoid issues that may be caused by simple customer power outages, so assigning persistent prefixes is a safer and simpler approach. Furthermore, this avoids the need for expensive logging, increases your chances to offer new business to customers, and decreases your customer churn.


This article is partially based on the work done at the RIPE BCOP WG (Best Current Operational Practice for operators: IPv6 prefix assignment for end-customers — persistent vs non-persistent, and what size to choose). For the complete document look at RIPE BCOP WG.


Jordi Palet Martínez has been working with computers, networking and technology since he was 8 years old. For the last 18 years, he has been CEO/CTO at “The IPv6 Company”, where he has devoted most of his time to IPv6 R&D, standardization, training and consultancy.

Last Modified on -
Date and time in Mauritius -