Info! Please note that this translation has been provided at best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

IPv6 و IoT

طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني

إنترنت الأشياء 1ليس من الصعب تخيل عالم يرتبط فيه كل شيء تقريبًا بالإنترنت. في السنوات القليلة الماضية ، رأينا انفجارًا في الأجهزة الذكية و "أشياء" متصلة بالإنترنت والتي تشكل معًا إنترنت الأشياء. ولكن ما هي إنترنت الأشياء (IoT) بالضبط ، ولماذا يجب أن نهتم؟ 

ببساطة ، فإن إنترنت الأشياء هو عبارة عن شبكة بين الأجهزة المادية والمركبات والمباني وغيرها من الأشياء التي تمكن هذه الكائنات من جمع البيانات وتبادلها. يوجد بالفعل العديد من الكائنات بخلاف أجهزة الكمبيوتر والهواتف المتصلة بـ IoT ، مثل منظمات الحرارة الذكية (اضبط درجة الحرارة في منزلك من المكتب حتى تعود إلى منزل دافئ - أو مبرد - إلى درجة حرارة مثالية) ، أقفال ذكية ( دع حاضنة الحيوانات الأليفة أو الخادمة في المنزل دون الحاجة إلى منحهما مفتاحًا) وثلاجات ذكية (يتم إخطارك عندما تنقصك بعض الإمدادات). وهي ليست مجرد أشياء مادية أيضًا. نظرًا لأن مدننا ومدننا أصبحت "أكثر ذكاءً" ، يتم توصيل المزيد والمزيد من الخدمات والبنى التحتية الحيوية بإنترنت الأشياء لضمان الاستدامة والكفاءة.

معرفات فريدة

يجب أن يكون لكل جهاز أو كائن يحتاج إلى الاتصال بالإنترنت معرف فريد - عنوان IP - لتمكينه من التواصل مع الأجهزة الأخرى. يوجد حاليًا نسختان من هذه المعرفات الفريدة قيد الاستخدام ، IPv4 و IPv6. هناك 232 (حوالي 4.3 مليار دولار) فريدة من نوعها IPv4 عناوين وفي الأيام الأولى للإنترنت ، بدا هذا وكأنه مبلغ ضخم. لكن الإنترنت نما بشكل أسرع مما توقعه أي شخص وسرعان ما أدرك المهندسون أن العرض محدود IPv4 لن تكون مساحة العنوان كافية لتلبية الطلب المستقبلي للمستخدمين الناشئة والأجهزة المتصلة. تحسبا لهذا ، و فريق عمل هندسة الإنترنت (IETF) المتقدمة ، اختبارها وموحدة IPv6 في أواخر التسعينيات. يوجد حوالي 1990128 IPv6 عنوان (رقم طويل بحيث يستغرق الأمر عدة سطور من هذه الفقرة) ، وهو أكثر من كاف لتلبية احتياجات العالم في التناول ولضمان أن كل هاتف أو جهاز لوحي أو سيارة ذكية أو دراجة أو ساعة أو زوج من الأحذية هل يمكن تخصيص جزء من IoT لعنوان IP لسنوات عديدة قادمة.

إنهاك

في عام 2011 ، تجمع العالمي لل IPv4 مساحة العنوان ، التي تديرها هيئة أرقام الإنترنت المخصصة (منظمة أيانا (IANA))، كان استنفد. هذا لا يعني ذلك IPv4 لم يعد من الممكن تخصيص مساحة العنوان لمقدمي خدمات الإنترنت ومشغلي الشبكات: كل منها RIR لا يزال لديه العرض الخاص به من مساحة العنوان التي تم تخصيصها لأعضائها على أساس الحاجة المبررة وفقا ل سياسات الخصوصية والبيع يحددها كل مجتمع من مجتمعاتهم.

IPv4 توفر

منذ عام 2015 ، كان AFRINIC الوحيد من بين RIRليالي مع انخفاض إمدادات غير حرجة من IPv4 مساحة العنوان ولا يزال يعين حاليا IPv4 معالجة مساحة لأعضائها على أساس الاحتياجات المبررة. الأعضاء الأفارقة يجب أن تظهر أنها تنوي استخدام جميع IPv4 المساحة التي يطلبونها. RIR أعضاء في مناطق أخرى لم تعد قادرة على طلب IPv4 مساحة العنوان من RIR ما لم هم عضو جديد ولديهم بالفعل IPv6 توزيع. إذا استوفوا هذه المتطلبات ، فقد يتم تخصيص كمية صغيرة جدًا منها IPv4 مساحة العنوان من أجل تمكينهم من تقديم خدماتهم IPv4 و IPv6.

 

إنترنت الأشياء 2

إذا ما هي المشكلة؟

باختصار ، يوجد بالفعل عدد أكبر من الأجهزة والكائنات المتصلة بالإنترنت أكثر من الأجهزة الموجودة IPv4 العناوين المتاحة لهم. وعلى الرغم من أننا نجلس على كمية هائلة من IPv6 عناوين ، انها ليست بسيطة مثل مجرد تخصيص كل جهاز IPv6 عنوان بدلا من IPv4 واحدة. معظم البنية التحتية الأحدث والأجهزة والكائنات الذكية جاهزة للاتصال باستخدام IPv4 و / أو أناPv6 لكن العديد من الشبكات والأجهزة الموجودة ، خاصة في المناطق النامية ، ليست كذلك IPv6 تمكين. من تصمبم، IPv4 و IPv6 غير قادر على التواصل مباشرة مع بعضها البعض. هذا يعني أن الأجهزة التي تتصل بالإنترنت فقط مع IPv4 عنوان لا يمكن التواصل مع الأجهزة التي تتصل مع فقط IPv6 العنوان والعكس بالعكس.

نشر بالتوازي

لضمان استمرار تشغيل الشبكات بسلاسة ويمكن لجميع الأجهزة في جميع أنحاء العالم مواصلة التواصل مع بعضها البعض ، IPv6 يجب نشر بالتوازي مع IPv4. على الرغم من أن معظم مهندسي الشبكات يفهمون الآن الأهمية الحاسمة لضمان عمل شبكاتهم ومنتجاتهم IPv4 و IPv6، قد يكون إجراء عملية النقل مكلفًا إذا كانت هناك حاجة إلى شراء معدات جديدة وفي بعض الأحيان يصعب إقناع مالك أو مدير أعمال غير فني بالحاجة.

هناك ما يكفي IPv4 لأفريقيا ليس هناك؟

في حين أن AFRINIC قد تكون المنطقة الوحيدة في العالم التي لا تزال لديها امدادات IPv4, معدلات الاستهلاك تتزايد بسرعة وليس هناك طريقة للتنبؤ بالاستهلاك في المستقبل. ليس ذلك فحسب ، فبعض مشغلي الشبكات في المناطق الأخرى يحولون تركيزهم إلى عرض AFRINIC IPv4 ونقل IPv4 مساحة من منطقة إلى أخرى مستمرة بالفعل في منطقة أخرى RIR المناطق. ال مجتمع أفرينيك - مجموعة كبيرة من المهندسين والحكومات والأكاديميين والمستخدمين الأفراد وواضعي السياسات المهتمين بالرفاهية العالمية للإنترنت - تحدد كيفية تخصيص كل مساحة العنوان ولمن يستخدم عملية تطوير سياسة مفتوحة وشاملة (PDP).

وضع السياسات

حاليا ، AFRINIC سياسات الخصوصية والبيع الدولة أن كل شيء IPv4 يجب استخدام مساحة العنوان في الشبكات داخل المنطقة ولكن مع إجراء مناقشات IPv4 نقل خارج المنطقة وحول بالضبط كم من IPv4 يجب استخدام المساحة داخل المنطقة لتكون متزامنة مع السياسة. هناك أيضا الكثير من النقاش داخل المجتمع حول ما إذا كان العرض المتبقي من IPv4 يجب أن تستهلك بسرعة من أجل إجبار أولئك الذين لم ينتشروا IPv6 للقيام بذلك عاجلا وليس آجلا أو ما إذا كان ينبغي الحفاظ عليها من أجل ضمان أن منطقتنا سيكون لديها ما يكفي IPv4 مساحة لضمان أن الوافدين الجدد أو أولئك الذين لا يستطيعون نشر أو استخدام حاليا IPv6 لا يزال بإمكانك الاتصال باستخدام IPv4.

المجتمع يقرر

بشكل حاسم ، ليس أفرينيك هو الذي يقرر هذا ، بل المجتمع. هذه المناقشات والقرارات تجري في القوائم البريدية العامة وخلال الاجتماعات الأفريقية التي تعقد مرتين في السنة في جميع أنحاء أفريقيا. لهذا السبب من الأهمية بمكان أن يحضر أي شخص مهتم بمستقبل الإنترنت المؤتمر القادم ، AFRINIC 25. يقام الحدث في موريشيوس في الفترة من 25 إلى 30 نوفمبر 2016. الحضور مفتوح للجميع ويتم تيسير المشاركة عن بُعد لأولئك غير القادرين على السفر.

بدون IPv6 إنترنت الأشياء ليس له مستقبل

لذلك ، إذا كانت أفريقيا لا تزال لديها IPv4 مساحة العنوان ، ما هو على عجل للنشر IPv6؟ يوجد بأفريقيا واحدة من أعلى معدلات مستخدمي الإنترنت في العالم ، وعدد كبير من مستخدمي الإنترنت في المستقبل ينتظرون الاتصال بالإنترنت ، وصناعة التكنولوجيا المتنامية ، ومجتمع كبير من رواد التكنولوجيا. ستحتاج كل هذه الشبكات والأجهزة والخدمات و "الأشياء" إلى عنوان IP. كما يحصل بقية العالم على السيطرة فقط مع القدرة على الحصول عليها IPv6 مساحة ، يقوم اللاعبون الجدد بتكييف أجهزتهم وكائناتهم وخدماتهم للعمل بدون IPv4 لأن كل ما لديهم هو IPv6 تخصيص والوصول ضئيلة أو معدومة IPv4 عناوين.

IPv6 استعداد

المزيد والمزيد من الشبكات هي IPv6 جاهزة ، الأجهزة IPv6 تمكين والمحتوى متاح على IPv6. إذن ، هناك احتمال حقيقي أن تظل هناك أجزاء معينة من إنترنت الأشياء في المستقبل IPv4- قد تصبح غير قابلة للوصول لأولئك الذين يتصلون بـ IPv6 العنوان والعكس بالعكس. الحل الوحيد هو لمشغلي الشبكات ل نشر IPv6 في أسرع وقت ممكن وللمصنعين ورجال الأعمال للتأكد من توفر منتجاتهم وخدماتهم IPv6.

ماذا نفعل حيال ذلك؟

بالنسبة إلى AFRINIC ، هذه ليست "مشكلة" جديدة. ال RIRعرفت لسنوات عديدة أن IPv4 تجمع لن تلبي احتياجات الجيل القادم من الإنترنت. جنبا إلى جنب مع الأربعة الآخرين RIRق ، عملت AFRINIC بلا كلل لإعلام وتعليم القارة بأكملها IPv4 الإرهاق والحاجة الملحة ل IPv6 تعيين. وبصرف النظر عن معلومات شاملة عن موقع الكترونيتقدم AFRINIC واحدة من الشركات الرائدة في إفريقيا IPv6 برامج تدريبية، إما بدون تكلفة أو بتكلفة منخفضة جدًا ، يقدم ويرعى ويدعم مبادرات البنية التحتية الحيوية ، مثل برامج تطوير DNS و IXP زمالات لضمان تمثيل أفريقيا بأكملها في تطوير سياسات موارد أرقام الإنترنت والدعاة لها IPv6 نشر في الأحداث العالمية في جميع أنحاء العالم. برنامج منح وجوائز AFRINIC الرائد ، صندوق أبحاث الإنترنت والتعليم (حريق أفريقيا) ، يدعم ، من بين العديد من المشاريع الأخرى ، المبادرات التي تتناول الوصول ، وتطوير البنية التحتية والأمن.

ماذا يمكنك أن تفعل حيال ذلك؟

  • إذا كنت عضوًا في AFRINIC - أو تفكر في أن تصبح عضوًا - فتأكد من طلبك IPv6 التخصيص في أسرع وقت ممكن وبدء العمل على خطة النشر لضمان عدم ترك الشبكات والخدمات الخاصة بك متخلفة عن الركب.
  • الاشتراك في واحدة من أفرينيك IPv6 حلقات عمل تدريبية لمعرفة المزيد عن IPv6 وكيفية نشرها على شبكاتك.
  • الحصول على معلومات: قراءة الحالية سياسات AFRINIC ومقترحات السياسة وقل كلمتك حول كيف IPv4 و IPv6 يجب توزيع مساحة العنوان في منطقتك.
  • حضور الاجتماع AFRINIC المقبل ، AFRINIC 25لمناقشة السياسة والتواصل مع محترفي تكنولوجيا المعلومات الآخرين وخبراء حوكمة الإنترنت وحضور دورات تدريبية على مستوى عالمي.
آخر تعديل في -
التاريخ والوقت في موريشيوس -

Info! Please note that this translation has been provided at best effort, for your convenience. The English page remains the official version.

IPv6 and the IoT

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

IoT1It's not too hard to imagine a world where almost everything is connected to the Internet. In the last few years, we've seen an explosion of smart devices and 'things' connected to the Internet which together form the Internet of Things. But what is the Internet of Things (IoT) exactly, and why should we care? 

Put simply, the IoT is the inter-networking of physical devices, vehicles, buildings and other objects that enable these objects to collect and exchange data. There are already many objects other than computers and phones connected to the IoT, such as smart thermostats (adjust the temperature in your home from the office so you get back to a house warmed - or cooled - to the perfect temperature), smart locks (let your pet-sitter or maid into the house without having to give them a key) and smart fridges (get notified when you're low on certain supplies). And it's not just physical objects either. As our towns and cities are becoming 'smarter', more and more services and critical infrastructures are being connected to the IoT to ensure sustainability and efficiency.

Unique identifiers

Every device or object that needs to connect to the Internet must have a unique identifier - an IP address - to enable it to communicate with other devices. There are currently two versions of these unique identifiers in use, IPv4 and IPv6. There are 232 (around 4.3 billion) unique IPv4 addresses and in the early days of the Internet, this seemed like a huge amount. But the Internet grew faster than anyone could have predicted and engineers soon realised that the limited supply of IPv4 address space would not be enough to meet future demand for emerging users and connected devices. In anticipation of this, the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) developed, tested and standardised IPv6 in the late 1990s. There are  around 2128 IPv6 address (a number so long that it would take up several lines of this paragraph), which is more than enough to meet the addressing needs of the world and to ensure that every phone, tablet, smart car, bike, watch or pair of shoes can that is part of the IoT can be assigned an IP address for many, many years to come.

Exhaustion

In 2011, the global pool of IPv4 address space, administered by the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA), was exhausted. This didn't mean that IPv4 address space could no longer be allocated to ISPs and network operators: each RIR still had its own supply of address space which was allocated to their respective members on the basis of justified need according to the policies defined by each of their own communities.

IPv4 availability

Since 2015, AFRINIC has been the only one of the RIRs with a non-critically low supply of IPv4 address space and is currently still assigning IPv4 address space to its members on a justified needs basis. AFRINIC members must show that they intend to use all the IPv4 space that they request. RIR members in other regions are no longer able to request IPv4 address space from their RIR unless they are a new member and already have an IPv6 allocation. If they meet these requirements they may be allocated a very, very small amount of IPv4 address space in order to enable them to offer their services over IPv4 and IPv6.

 

IoT2

So what's the problem?

In a nutshell, there are already more devices and objects connecting to the Internet than there are IPv4 addresses available for them. And even though we are sitting on a huge supply of IPv6 addresses, it's not as simple as just allocating every device an IPv6 address instead of an IPv4 one. Most of the newer infrastructure and devices and smart objects are ready to connect using IPv4 and/or IPv6 but many existing networks and devices, especially in developing regions, are not IPv6 enabled. By design, IPv4 and IPv6 are unable to communicate directly with each other. This means that devices connecting to the Internet with only an IPv4 address cannot communicate with devices that are connecting with only an IPv6 address and vice versa.

Deploy in parallel

In order to ensure that networks continue to run seamlessly and all devices around the world can continue to communicate with each other, IPv6 must be deployed in parallel with IPv4. Although most network engineers now understand the critical importance of ensuring that their networks and products work with IPv4 and IPv6, making the transition can be costly if new equipment needs to be purchased and sometimes convincing a non-technical business owner or manager of the need is difficult.

There's enough IPv4 for Africa isn't there?

While AFRINIC may be the only region in the world that still has a supply of IPv4, consumption rates are increasing rapidly and there is no way to predict future consumption. Not only that, some network operators in other regions are turning their focus to AFRINIC's supply of IPv4 and transfer of IPv4 space from one region to another is already ongoing in other RIR regions. The AFRINIC community - a large group of engineers, governments, academics, individual users and policy makers who are interested in the global well-being of the Internet - defines how all address space is allocated and to who using an open and inclusive Policy Development Process (PDP).

Policy development

Currently, AFRINIC policies state that all IPv4 address space must be used in networks within the region but discussions on IPv4 transfers out of the region and about exactly how much of the IPv4 space has to be used within the region to be in conjunction with the policy are ongoing. There is also a lot of debate within the community about whether the remaining supply of IPv4 should be consumed quickly in order to force those who have not deployed IPv6 to do so sooner rather than later or whether it should be preserved in order to ensure that our region will have enough IPv4 space to ensure that new entrants or those who cannot currently deploy or use IPv6 can still connect using IPv4.

Community decides

Crucially, it is not AFRINIC that decides on this, but the community. These discussions and decisions take place on public mailing lists and during the AFRINIC Meetings which take place twice a year throughout Africa. This is why it's critical that anyone interested in the future of the Internet attends the upcoming conference, AFRINIC-25. The event takes place in Mauritius from 25 - 30 November 2016. Attendance is open to all and remote participation is facilitated for those unable to travel.

Without IPv6 the IoT has no future

So, if Africa still has IPv4 address space, what's the hurry to deploy IPv6? Africa has one of the world’s highest rates of mobile Internet users, a huge population of future Internet users waiting to get online, a growing tech industry and a large community of tech entrepreneurs. All of these networks, devices, services and 'things' will need an IP address. As the rest of the world gets to grips with only being able to get IPv6 space, new players are adapting their devices, objects and services to work without IPv4 because all they've got is an IPv6 allocation and little or no access to IPv4 addresses.

IPv6 ready

More and more networks are IPv6 ready, devices IPv6 enabled and content made available over IPv6. So there is a very real possibility that, in the future, certain parts of the IoT that remain on IPv4-only may become unreachable to those connecting with an IPv6 address and vice versa. The only solution is for network operators to deploy IPv6 as soon as possible and for manufacturers and entrepreneurs to make sure their products and services are available over IPv6.

What are we doing about it?

For AFRINIC, this is not a new 'problem'. The RIRs have known for many years that the IPv4 pool would not meet the needs of the next generation of the Internet. Together with the other four RIRs, AFRINIC has worked tirelessly to inform and educate the entire continent about IPv4 exhaustion and the urgent need for IPv6 deployment. Aside from comprehensive information on the website, AFRINIC delivers one of Africa's leading IPv6 Training programs, either at no cost or very low cost, sponsors and supports critical infrastructure initiatives, such as DNS and IXP development programs, provides Fellowships to ensure that all of Africa is represented in developing Internet number resource policies, and advocates about IPv6 deployment at global events throughout the world. AFRINIC's flagship Grants and Awards programme, the Fund for Internet Research and Education (FIRE Africa), supports, among many other projects, initiatives dealing with access, infrastructure development and security.

What can you do about it?

  • If you're an AFRINIC member - or considering becoming one - make sure you request your IPv6 allocation as soon as possible and begin working on your deployment plan to ensure that your networks and services are not left behind.
  • Sign up for one of AFRINIC's IPv6 Training Workshops to find out more about IPv6 and how to deploy it on your networks.
  • Get informed: read the current AFRINIC policies and policy proposals and have your say about how IPv4 and IPv6 address space should be distributed in your region.
  • Attend the next AFRINIC meeting, AFRINIC-25, to discuss policy, network with other IT professionals and Internet governance experts, and attend world class training sessions.
Last Modified on -
Date and time in Mauritius -